What is EndNote 21?
EndNote 21
(and EndNote Web)
EndNote 21 (aka EndNote Desktop) is a robust, online and desktop citation manager that requires a paid subscription. EndNote 21 is the most recent version of EndNote Desktop. Like all of the citation managers included in this guide, EndNote 21 can help you to collect, organize, format, and share your citations.
Also on this guide page are instructions for setting up and using EndNote Web, which is an online version of EndNote available exclusively to EndNote 21 users.
Installing and Setting Up EndNote 21
The University of Wisconsin-Madison does not have an institutional license to EndNote 21. EndNote 21 can be purchased as an individual license through Clarivate's website, which has discounts for students or those upgrading from an older version of EndNote Desktop. You can also reach out to your department to see if they may have a department license for EndNote 21. Once you have purchased EndNote 21, you should receive instructions for installation.
Once you have EndNote 21 installed, instructions for creating a new library can be found in this handout for Windows (the handouts for Mac are in the works!), or in the video below.
Handouts for EndNote 21
The handouts linked below contain detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to use EndNote 21.
Note: Handouts for Mac are in the works!
Handouts for Windows Users:
- EndNote 21 General Setup (Windows)This handout includes instructions for customizing your EndNote 21 account for UW-Madison, creating a new library, importing terms lists, and selecting and importing output styles.
- EndNote 21 Tips (Windows)This handout contains instructions for using EndNote 21.
- EndNote 21 Cite While You Write Plugin (Windows)This handout contains instructions for using EndNote 21's Microsoft Word plugin (Cite While You Write).
- EndNote Web TipsThis handout contains instructions for using EndNote Web (the online version of EndNote, exclusive to EndNote 21 users).
- Google's Cite While You Write PluginThis handout contains instructions for using Google's Cite While You Write plugin (exclusive to EndNote 21 users).
Videos for EndNote 21
Below are videos containing step by step instructions on how to use EndNote 21.
Citation Management Resources: This video shows how you can find additional citation management resources.- Creating a Library: This video contains instructions for how to create a library in EndNote 21.
- Importing Citations from PubMed: This video contains instructions for importing citations from PubMed into EndNote 21.
- Importing Citations from EBSCO host Databases: This video contains instructions for importing citations from EBSCO host databases into EndNote 21.
- Importing Citations from Google Scholar: This video contains instructions for importing citations from Google Scholar into EndNote 21.
- Previewing and Editing Citations: This video contains instructions for previewing and editing citations in EndNote 21.
- Organizing Citations into Groups: This video contains instructions for organizing citations into groups in EndNote 21.
- Attaching PDFs and Find Full Text: This video contains instructions for attaching PDFs to citations and finding full text in EndNote 21.
- Adding Tags to Citations: This video contains instructions for adding tags to citations in EndNote 21.
- Syncing a Library: This video contains instructions for syncing a library in EndNote 21.
- Sharing Groups: This video contains instructions for sharing groups in EndNote 21.
- Sharing a Library: This video contains instructions for sharing a library in EndNote 21.
- Accessing Your Library Online: This video contains instructions for accessing your EndNote 21 library online.
- Importing Terms Lists: This video contains instructions for importing terms lists in EndNote 21.
- Cite While You Write Plugin for Microsoft Word: This video contains instructions for using EndNote 21's Cite While You Write plugin for Microsoft Word.
- Tips for Collaborating - Be Careful with Shared Drives!: This video contains tips for collaborating on Microsoft Word documents with EndNote 21, namely why you should be careful when using shared drives.
- Tips for Collaborating - Adding Citations to Shared Word Documents: This video contains tips for collaborating on Microsoft Word documents with EndNote 21, namely ways of adding citations to shared Word documents.
- Tips for Collaborating - Editing Collaborators' Citations in Shared Word Documents: This video contains tips for collaborating on Microsoft Word documents with EndNote 21, namely how to edit citations added by collaborators in shared Word documents.
- Cite While You Write for Google Docs: This video contains instructions for installing and using EndNote 21's Cite While You Write plugin for Google Docs.
Have questions? Reach out!
Have additional questions, or would like direct EndNote 21 support? Reach out to Paije Wilson, the Ebling Library's Citation Management Coordinator, at paije.wilson@wisc.edu.
To see the complete list of citation manager consultants at UW-Madison, see the consultants page of the UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers Guide.
Quick Links
- EndNote Web LoginThis link will take you to the login screen for EndNote Web. When you have a subscription to EndNote 21, you can sync your EndNote 21 account with your EndNote Web account so that you may access and modify citations online, and also use the Google Cite While You Write plugin. Note that access to EndNote Web is available exclusively to EndNote 21 users.
- EndNote Basic loginThis link will take you to the login screen for EndNote Basic (the free, online version of EndNote). In addition to EndNote Web, you can sync your library with EndNote Basic to access your library online. You can also use EndNote Basic to access groups that have been shared with you.
- Contact ClarivateYou can use this page to contact Clarviate (the developers of EndNote) for EndNote 21 support
Additional Resources
- Clarivate's EndNote 21 Support MaterialsThis site contains support materials for EndNote 21 created by Clarivate (the developers of EndNote and EndNote Basic).
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Manager Comparison ChartThis chart provides a comprehensive comparison of the available functions in EndNote Basic, EndNote Desktop, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers GuideThis is the UW Libraries' guide to citation managers, which provides general information on installing and using EndNote Basic, EndNote Desktop, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libaries' Citing Sources GuideThis guide provides information on how to cite sources using different citation styles.
- UW-Madison Writing CenterThe Writing Center supports writers affiliated with the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Writing Center provides writers with support, resources, community, and accountability at any stage of the writing process.