What is Mendeley?
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free, online and desktop citation manager. Like all of the citation managers included in this guide, Mendeley can help you to collect, organize, format, and share your citations.
Creating your Mendeley account
Instructions for setting up and installing Mendeley, Mendeley's web importer, and Mendeley Cite can be found in this handout or in the video embedded below.
Handouts for Mendeley
The handout linked below contains detailed, step-by-step instructions on how to use Mendeley
- Mendeley TipsThis handout includes instructions for creating, setting up, and using your Mendeley account.
Videos for Mendeley
Below are videos containing step by step instructions on how to use Mendeley.
Video 1 Creating an Account: This video contains instructions for how to create an account and install the desktop version of Mendeley, the web importer, and Mendeley Cite.- Video 2 Importing Citations from PubMed: This video contains instructions for importing citations from PubMed into Mendeley.
- Video 3 Importing Citations from Scopus: This video contains instructions for importing citations from Scopus into Mendeley.
- Video 4 Importing Citations from Google Scholar: This video contains instructions for importing citations from Google Scholar into Mendeley.
- Video 5 Importing Citations from Web of Science: This video contains instructions for importing citations from Web of Science into Mendeley.
- Video 6 Importing Citations from EBSCO Databases: This video contains instructions for importing citations from EBSCO databases into Mendeley.
- Video 7 Creating Folder: This video contains instructions for creating folders in Mendeley.
- Video 8 Attaching and Annotating PDFs: This video contains instructions for attaching and annotating PDFs in Mendeley.
- Video 9 Sharing Folders: This video contains instructions for sharing folders in Mendeley.
- Video 10 Mendeley Cite: This video contains instructions for using Mendeley Cite in Microsoft Word.
Have questions? Reach out!
Have additional questions, or would like direct Mendeley support? Reach out to Paije Wilson, the Ebling Library's Citation Management Coordinator, at paije.wilson@wisc.edu.
To see the complete list of citation manager consultants at UW-Madison, see the consultants page of the UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers Guide.
Quick Links
- Mendeley LoginThis link will take you to the login page for Mendeley.
- Mendeley Support CenterYou can use this page to contact Elsevier (the developers of Mendeley) for Mendeley support.
Additional Resources
- Mendeley's Support MaterialsThis site contains links to support guides for Mendeley
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Manager Comparison ChartThis chart provides a comprehensive comparison of the available functions in EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libraries' Citation Managers GuideThis is the UW Libraries' guide to citation managers, which provides general information on installing and using EndNote Basic, EndNote 20, Zotero, and Mendeley.
- UW-Madison Libaries' Citing Sources GuideThis guide provides information on how to cite sources using different citation styles.
- UW-Madison Writing CenterThe Writing Center supports writers affiliated with the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Writing Center provides writers with support, resources, community, and accountability at any stage of the writing process.