Publishing your Research Article: Science and Engineering : Find Journals
Get Help with Research Impact
The Libraries provide specialized support for research metrics, scholarly publishing, and more. We are here to help!
Contact the Research Impact Librarian Team
Schedule a consultation - book a 30-minute Zoom meeting with a Research Impact Librarian
Browsing Journals by Subject
- BrowZineGenerate a bookshelf, on mobile device or desktop, of journals in subject areas of interest. Available to UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.
1. Choose a subject from the list or enter the name of a specific journal.
a. If browsing by subject, sort the list of journals by rank (from link, top right of results page).
b. If browsing a specific journal, note links to SJR data (SCImago Journal & Country Rank) and to related subjects.
Journal Selection
This page provides the following resources that you can use to find journals in your field:
- Journal directories
- Databases
- Journal matching sites
When you are selecting a journal to publish in, also consider consulting with your research colleagues and mentors for suggestions. This is a common practice, and allows you to leverage the expertise of others in your field.
NOTE: our Evaluate Journals page provides resources for evaluating the quality of a journal. Journal Directories
These journal directories index credible journals, and can be searched by topic:
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- JCR (Journal Citation Reports)Provides a means of determining the relative importance of scholarly and technical journals within their subject disciplines
- Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryProvides detailed information on serials published throughout the world
- SCImago (SJR, Journal & Country Rank)A publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database
Databases (to Identify Journals in your Research Topic Area)
You can use databases to find journals that publish articles in your topic area using these strategies:
- database keyword searching or searching by top author(s) in your field
- analyzing database results to see which journals are coming up in the results of the search
Databases that work especially well for this are Scopus and Web of Science:
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research
NOTE: how to analyze results in Scopus- Web of ScienceIndexes more than 12,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Includes tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
NOTE: how to analyze results in Web of ScienceJournal Matching Sites
Several publishers provide tools to help you match your research topic with a journal:
- Clarivate Manuscript MatcherUsing the title, abstract, and cited references (optional) of your manuscript to be matched to journals in the Web of Science Core Collection
- Elsevier Journal FinderEnter your title and abstract to be matched to relevant Elsevier journals
- IEEE Publication RecommenderEnter keywords, key phrases or article title to get matched with journals
- JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)Title, abstract or keyword search
- JournalGuideSearch, filter, sort, and compare journals from more than 46,000 titles
- SpringerNature Journal SuggesterEnter your manuscript details to see a list of journals most suitable for your research
- Wiley Journal Finder betaEnter title and abstract and to see a list of potential journals to consider.