Social Issues: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Prison Issues
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Madison-area Urban Ministry"Madison-area Urban Ministry (MUM) has worked for social justice for over three decades. MUM is an interfaith coalition of congregations and individuals of all beliefs."
- American Probation and Parole AssociationA national association involved with probation, parole, and community-based corrections.
- Center on Juvenile and Criminal JusticeA private, non-profit organization that brings attention to alternatives to incarceration.
- National Center on Institutions and AlternativesA private, non-profit agency that provides various services to correctional institutions throughout the country.
- National Institute of CorrectionsAn agency within the Federal Bureau of Prisons.
- Prison Activist Resource Center"PARC is a prison abolitionist group committed to exposing and challenging all forms of institutionalized racism, sexism, able-ism, heterosexism, and classism, specifically within the Prison Industrial Complex (PIC)."
About Prison Issues
This guide focuses on prisons and correctional institutions in the United States, including alternatives to incarceration.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: prisons, prisons AND United States, prisons AND mental health, prisons AND rehabilition, incarceration OR imprisonment OR prisons, correctional institut* AND women, correctional institut* AND disababilities, prisons AND discrimination
Overview Resources - Background Information
- American Civil Liberties Union : Criminal Law ReformAmerican Civil Liberties Union Web Site includes press releases and position papers about criminal law-related issues.
- Civil Rights of Institutionalized PersonsThis Department of Justice site contains the full text of the Civil Rights of Institutionalized Persons Act (CRIPA), as well as a description of the Special Litigation Section that resolves issues pertaining to CRIPA. Relevant links are included.
- Federal Bureau of Prisons"Locate federal prisons nationwide; learn how to locate inmates; and check prison employment opportunities. Find statistical information on institutions and inmates, including a weekly population report by institution, and inmate breakdowns by age, race, security level, and other criteria. Read historical documents and articles concerning BOP history, including Alcatraz and a list of all federal prisoners executed since 1927."
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
Waiting for an Echo: The Madness of American Incarceration by Call Number: HV6089 .M66 2020ISBN: 9781594205972Publication Date: 2020-07-21
Prisoners of Politics: Breaking the Cycle of Mass Incarceration by Call Number: HV9950 .B358 2019 or ebookISBN: 9780674238992Publication Date: 2019-03-04
Unusually Cruel: Prisons, Punishment, and the Real American Exceptionalism by Call Number: HV8139 .H69 2017 or ebookISBN: 9780190659349Publication Date: 2017-07-17
Minorities and the Law by Call Number: E184.A1 M5435 2015ISBN: 9780737771794Publication Date: 2015-02-06
The Marion Experiment: Long-Term Solitary Confinement and the Supermax Movement by Call Number: KF9730 .M37 2015 or ebookISBN: 9780809333769Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Locked down, Locked Out: Why Prison Doesn't Work and How We Can Do Better by Call Number: HV9471 S34 2014 or ebookISBN: 9781626562691Publication Date: 2014-11-10
Punishment for Sale: Private Prisons, Big Business, and the Incarceration Binge by Call Number: HV9469 S45 2010 or ebookISBN: 9781442201729Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Race, Incarceration, and American Values by Call Number: HV6197 U5 L68 2008 or ebookISBN: 0262123118Publication Date: 2008-08-22
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- SocINDEXSocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for "core coverage" sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFocuses on medical and nursing information.
Statistics and Data
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsCorrections statistics maintained by the U.S. Department of Justice, includes jails, prisons, and probation and parole data.