Contact
Point of Care/Clinical Databases
UpToDateAn excellent background resource for students and clinicians interested in efficiently filling holes in their knowledge base. UpToDate is a large on-line medical textbook (~80,000 pages of text) containing short, well-written discussions of medical topics in internal medicine, pediatrics, ob/gyn and family medicine. Each review article is written by an expert in the field being discussed, and is designed to provide a quick way to get up to speed. Approximately 40% of the content is updated every four months.
DynaMedDynaMed is a clinical decision support system that provides clinicians with evidence-based information for quick answers at the point of care. It contains: Overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, and a free mobile app. It is updated multiple times daily to insure currency. Integrated Micromedex content provides resources to help better inform prescription decisions, medication management strategies and treatment decisions as a result of lab tests in the course of patient care.
BMJ Best PracticeBMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool from BMJ. Search for topics or browse by speciialities. It provides guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and prevention. It is updated daily using robust evidence-based methodology and expert opinion
Essential Evidence PlusEssential Evidence Topics are designed to give clear, evidence-based recommendations at the point of care for primary care clinicians, hospitalists, emergency and urgent care physicians. Topics are also linked to over 5000 POEMs research summaries, over 8000 summaries from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, over 5000 diagnostic test calculators, and over 600 custom clinical decision support tools.
Starting 9/23: Users must create a personal profile associated with UW-Madison to access EE+. Go to our Essential Evidence Plus tutorial for how to create your profile.
Clinical Key OverviewsClinical Overviews provide a clinically focused summary of a topic. They include 'key points', 'pitfalls' and 'urgent action' (where applicable) to match the clinician workflow. Clinical overviews can be searched and browsed.
Medscape ReferenceFree online medical reference available to physicians and other health care professionals. Content is updated regularly by more than 8,000 attributed physician or health care providers. Medscape Reference contains articles on over 6,500 diseases and medical topics, and is illustrated with more than 25,000 multimedia files. Medscape Reference articles undergo a certain amount physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication.
Literature (Article) Databases
Guidelines/Recommendations/Reports
- ECRI Guidelines TrustECRI continues the work of the National Guideline Clearinghouse as a clinical guideline repository.
- EPC Reports (AHRQ)A collection of evidence reports and technology assessments based on rigorous, comprehensive syntheses and analyses of relevant scientific literature, emphasizing explicit and detailed documentation of methods, rationale, and assumptions. The Evidence Reports are produced by the Evidence Practice Centers for the US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
- ClinicalKey GuidelinesClinicalKey offers full text practice guidelines that are published in the journals available on ClinicalKey, as well as from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). ClinicalKey also includes links to the full text of additional practice guidelines found on the websites of professional and government agencies.
- Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024This annual compilation of primary care guidelines covers prevention/screening, management, and special populations.
- TRIPGuidelines are included from US, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the UK and more.
- PubMedLimit results to published practice guidelines by applying the "Article types" filter 'Practice Guideline'.
- USPSTF Recommendation StatementsReviews of the scientific evidence on preventive services (screening, counseling, and preventive medications) from an independent panel of experts made up of mainly primairy care providers.
Critically Appraised
- ACP Journal ClubScans more than 100 clinical journals for high impact clinical studies or reviews that “warrant the attention of clinicians.” Provides abstracts with results and commentary for each article included.
- EvidenceAlertsRequires one-time registration. A free resource from McMaster and DynaMed Plyus that includes a database of the highest-rated articles from over 120 of the top clinical journals. Each article entry includes abstract and ratings (based on newsworthiness and relevance) as well as comments from the clinical raters.
- POEMs Research SummariesThe archived collection of 3,500+ regularly updated Daily POEMs. POEMs ("Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters") are synopses of new evidence carefully filtered for relevance to patient care and evaluated for validity, from continuous review, grading, and critical appraisal of all 3000+ studies published monthly in more than 100 journals.
- BestBETsDeveloped in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. BETs take into account the shortcomings of much current evidence, allowing physicians to make the best of what there is. Although BETs began with an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and pediatrics.
Patient Education
- MedlinePlus (English)From their website: "MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
- MedlinePlus (Spanish)This site is a mirror of the English language MedlinePlus webpage.
- MedlinePlus: GeneticsProvides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
- UpToDate: The BasicsBrief overviews written in plain language. Includes multiple languages
- UpToDate: Beyond the BasicsMore detailed information for people comfortable with some medical language. Includes multiple languages.
- Lexidrug Patient Education HandoutsIncludes 18 languages
- Clinical Key Patient EducationIncludes Spanish
- Patient Education Handouts (AccessMedicine)Includes several languages
- ClinicalTrials.govRegistry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- Ebling Health Literacy Guideinformation for health professionals on how to communicate with patients when discussing their medical conditions.