This research guide provides resources and tools for answering the type of questions generated during the PaCE self-directed learning curriculum.

• Resources are arranged so that those that are most likely to answer your questions are at the top of the page. 
• Textbooks often offer a fuller understanding of these questions than point of care databases, such as UpToDate, which are meant for use by physicians to refresh previously learned information.

Listed below are textbooks of interest in a few areas of interest. To browse a list of textbooks by subject area, see our Health Sciences Books page.

Anatomy Texts

• Gray's Atlas of Anatomy

• Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy

• The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy

• McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy

Basic Science Texts

• Medical Sciences

• Goldman-Cecil Medicine

• Robbins Basic Pathology

• The Big Picture: Medical Biochemistry

• Medical Physiology: The Big Picture

• Immunology for Medical Students

• Dale's Pharmacology Condensed

Clinical Texts

• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

• Textbook of Family Medicine

These sources offer information about public health topics and statistics.

Wisconsin

• Wisconsin Dept of Health Services

• Wisconsin State Legislature

• Wisconsin Medical Society

United States

• County Health Rankings & Roadmaps

• U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

• National Center for Health Statistics

  Best site for US health stats

Global

• World Health Organization

These sites are sources of guidelines by major associations and the U.S. Government.

• ClinicalKey: Guidelines

• United States Preventative Services Task Force

• Khan Academy Medicine (YouTube Channel)

• Osmosis Health and Medicine (YouTube Channel)

These sources all have review articles that provide evidence-based summaries about medical conditions, including clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment.

• American Family Physician

• New England Journal of Medicine

• Pediatrics in Review

• ACOG Practice Bulletins

• PubMed
  Use the 'Review' article type filter to limit results

These sources are databases of systematic reviews, which combine similar studies to produce evidence-based recommendations and conclusions. 

• Cochrane Library

  Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)

• AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice Reports

• PubMed
  Use the 'Systematic Review' filter to limit results

These sources provide information about signs/symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments of medical conditions.

• BMJ Best Practice

  Provides evidence-based summaries about a variety of clinical topics.

• Clinical Key/First Consult

  Clinical key provides access to a variety of types of resources like books and articles and First Consult is a point of care resource with succinct clinical summaries.

• DynaMed 

  A point of care resource that provides evidence- based information on a wide variety of clinical topics in an easy to read bullet-point format.

• Essential Evidence Plus

  A point of care resource with succinct evidence-based summaries that also provides access to systematic reviews and guidelines.

• Lexicomp

  A point of care drug reference.

• UpToDate
  A comprehensive point of care resource that provides information on pathophysiology, clinical conditions, and medications.

These sources are credible sources that can be used by the general public to find information about health and medical conditions. 

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

• Mayo Clinic

• MEDLINEPlus

• National Institutes of Health

For primary literature, search PubMed or other literature databases. 

PubMed
Largest North-American health journal databases that indexes 5000+ health journals from 1950 to now.

PubMed Clinical Queries
​A specialized search box within PubMed for finding articles on clinical topics.

Health Sciences Databases List (Ebling Library)
A comprehensive list of health sciences databases available to you through UW-Madison.

Google Scholar
Restricts the results of a Google search to scholarly literature from governmental units, websites, academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.