International and Area Studies (IAS) : IAS Collections
WELCOME!
The International and Area Studies (IAS) unit of UW–Madison's General Library System (GLS) uses linguistic, cultural, and geo-political expertise to build and curate specialized collections across disciplines in the humanities and social sciences for Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Middle East.
OUR MISSION
Created in 2017, the IAS unit provides collections and services that support the teaching, learning, research, and outreach initiatives of programs, faculty, students, and staff at the UW–Madison. IAS also seeks to engage with interested individuals and institutions at the local, regional, national, and international levels.
IAS provides a vehicle for the GLS to formally interact with the Division of International Studies in collaboration with the Area Studies Centers organized under the Institute for Regional and International Studies (IRIS).
WHO WE ARE AND WHAT WE DO
The IAS’ collections responsibilities include:
- Emilie Songolo
East Asian Studies Collections
- Yoriko Dixon, Japanese Studies
- Anlin Yang, Chinese Studies and Korean Studies
European Studies Collections
- Julianne Haahr, Western European History and Social Sciences
- Kevin Kurdylo, German and Dutch Languages and Literatures
- Laura Martin, Iberian Studies, French and Italian Languages and Literatures
- Todd Michelson-Ambelang, Scandinavian Languages and Literatures
Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies Collections
- Laura Martin
Middle Eastern Studies Collection
- Andy Spencer
Russian, East European and Central Asian Collections
- Andy Spencer
South Asian Studies Collection
- Todd Michelson-Ambelang
Southeast Asian Studies Collection
- Larry Ashmun
Our subject and language skills allow us to provide the following services to the campus at large and to interested parties outside UW-Madison:
-
Selection of library materials: print and non-print, books, journals, databases, data files, maps, music, videos, DVDs, photographs, textiles, rare books, archives, and manuscript collections.
-
Reference and research consultation: IAS librarians can be reached by email, phone, or in-person for customized one-on-one research assistance.
-
Information literacy instruction for students and community groups: IAS librarians guide graduate and undergraduate students on their research by designing course-tailored instruction modules and dynamic learning tools.
-
Curation of digital databases for preservation and open access using new technologies.
-
Professional engagement for the growth and enhancement of Areas Studies and various disciplines.