Spanish Medieval Literature : Resources Off Campus

The International Center of Medieval Art promotes and supports the study, understanding, and preservation of visual and material cultures produced primarily between ca. 300 CE and ca. 1500 CE in every corner of the medieval world. To this end the ICMA facilitates scholarship and education and sponsors public lectures, conferences, publications, and exhibitions.

The Hispanic Society of America was founded in 1904 with the object of establishing a free, public museum and reference library for the study of the art and culture of the Spain, Portugal, Latin America, and the Philippines. The collections of the Hispanic Society are unparalleled in their scope and quality outside of Spain, addressing nearly every aspect of culture in Spain, as well as a large part of Portugal and Latin America, into the 20th century.
With more than 900 paintings and 6,000 watercolors and drawings, the Hispanic Society offers a comprehensive survey of Spanish painting and drawing. Similarly, the collection of sculpture contains outstanding pieces from the first millennium B.C. to the early 20th century.

The Medieval Academy of America is the largest organization in the United States promoting excellence in the field of medieval studies. It was founded in 1925 and is based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The academy publishes the quarterly journal Speculum, and awards prizes, grants, and fellowships. The Medieval Academy supports research, publication, and teaching in medieval art, archaeology, history, law, literature, music, philosophy, religion, science, social and economic institutions, and all other aspects of the Middle Ages.

The HSMS is a non-profit entity whose principal aim is to provide access to the masses of transcriptions and data that were being produced as a result of their on-going Dictionary of the Old Spanish Language (DOSL) project.
Since then, the HSMS has grown to become one of the most important publishers of material in Hispanomedievalism and its related fields, making available at affordable prices all kinds of scholarly research related to the early Ibero-Romance languages and literatures.

Explore the roots of European written culture through manuscripts from antiquity to the early print era.
Europeana is a web portal created by the European Union containing digitalised museum collections of more than 3,000 institutions across Europe.It includes records of over 10 million cultural and scientific artefacts, brought together on a single platform and presented in a variety of ways relevant to modern users.

The Byzantine Studies Association of North America, Inc. (BSANA) was formed in 2006. It is composed of three parts: the U.S. National Committee for Byzantine Studies (USNCBS), the Canadian Committee of Byzantinists (CCB), and the Byzantine Studies Conference (BSC). The Byzantine Studies Conference meets in October or November in a different city every year. Approximately 75 papers are presented and discussed in a relaxed but professional atmosphere. Graduate students are strongly encouraged to attend and may compete for prizes for the best papers.

An online magazine featuring fresh perspectives on the middle ages, providing educational content that is entertaining and relevant to contemporary issues of race, sexuality and more.

The International Center of Medieval Art promotes and supports the study, understanding, and preservation of visual and material cultures produced primarily between ca. 300 CE and ca. 1500 CE in every corner of the medieval world.

(Rare Books & Manuscripts) The holdings in the BPL's Medieval and Early Renaissance Manuscripts Collection date from the 10th through 17th centuries, covering a wide range of subjects and documenting schools of both script and illumination from across Europe and beyond.

The New York Public Library possesses one of the largest and finest collections of medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts in North America, yet its manuscript holdings are scarcely known to scholars, much less to a wide public audience. Medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts are vehicles of the collective memory of western European culture, and provide a material connection between the scribes, illuminators, and patrons who produced these works and the audiences who view them today.

The Huntington possesses one of the largest collections of British medieval manuscripts in the Western hemisphere. The majority of the Library's medieval holdings were produced in England or in Europe for the English market. They include nearly 500 bound volumes of literary, historical, and religious materials, which contain about 2,000 separate texts. There are 55 Middle English volumes (1250–1500) of prose and verse, most celebrated among these being the Ellesmere Chaucer, the Towneley Plays and Chester Plays, two autograph volumes of Thomas Hoccleve's poetry, and the Stafford Gower.