Spanish Medieval Literature : Resources On Campus

In this link one can browse the Chazen's art collection ranging from the 6th to the 10th centuries.

The Department’s Manuscripts Collection consists mainly of European manuscripts, ranging from English manor rolls of the 14th century to documents of the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection also includes a set of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts primarily of Italian provenance. Additional manuscripts are included in the Cairns Collection of American Women Writers and other author collections in Special Collections.

The Chazen Museum of Art houses not only collections of early art (including devotional objects, carvings, paintings, and sculpture) but also the Kohler Art Library, which contains extensive holdings in art history and visual culture.

The Medieval Studies Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison offers an interdisciplinary environment for the exploration of the cultures of Europe and the Mediterranean basin during the Middle Ages, a period spanning Late Antiquity to roughly 1500. Representing faculty from over 18 departments, we offer courses and certificate programs at both the graduate and undergraduate levels. The Program also sponsors events and conferences on topics of interest both to the university and to the community at large.

Medieval studies offers students interdisciplinary perspectives on the history of Europe and the Mediterranean rim between ca. 300-1500. Courses spanning 18 departments allow students to explore the medieval world from the standpoints of art, visual and material culture, history, law, languages and literature, music, philosophy, religious studies and the history of science and medicine. The certificate in medieval studies is designed to encourage pursuit of interdisciplinary work among several departments.

Medieval studies offers students interdisciplinary perspectives on the history of Europe and the Mediterranean rim between ca. 300-1500. Courses spanning 18 departments allow students to explore the medieval world from the standpoints of art, visual and material culture, history, law, languages and literature, music, philosophy, religious studies and the history of science and medicine. The certificate in medieval studies is designed to encourage pursuit of interdisciplinary work among several departments.

The Madison Early Music Festival (MEMF) was created in 2000. The founders sought to provide an opportunity for musicians, scholars, teachers, and early music enthusiasts. This group could gather and exchange information and ideas about medieval, Renaissance, and baroque music. Each year, acclaimed early music artists are brought to the Midwest to perform in Madison, Wisconsin. There are opportunities for everyone, from those who simply enjoy listening to concerts and lectures to early music scholars. There are performance opportunities for amateurs and professionals alike. All listeners, singers, players, and dancers are welcome!