Spanish Medieval Literature : Texts

A selection of historical grammatical treatises that includes, among others, Nebrija's "Gramática de la lengua española" and Villena's "El arte de trovar".

This website offers background information about romances as collected by Menéndez Pidal. There is also an archive of romanceros that are available to review and study.

The Biblioteca Digital Hispánica offers a collection of electronic sources ranging from art, astronomy, biology, botany, civil war propaganda, culture, literature, etc.

An website dedicated to the complete works of Gonzalo de Berceo.

The Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes offers a wide variety of electronic Spanish texts, which you can search for by title or author (the website is a little challenging to navigate).

Listen to this work read in Spanish while reading it in paleographic or normative transcription or English translation. NOTE: Requires specific browser/software specifications.

The CERL Portal gives access to descriptions of manuscripts of all periods and early printed materials (up to 1830) in collections in Europe, the United States and Australia. The Portal searches these collections simultaneously and offers the search results grouped by library. The full display will offer you the most important details, but not the entire record. For the full records, please follow the link to the original database provided in each record. There you can make use of the more extensive search possibilities offered by the source database, which in many cases will include access to digitized images. The CERL Portal is an initiative of the Consortium of European Research Libraries.

The Corpus Biblia Medieval is an electronic source that allows you to access various versions of conserved medieval bibles as well as study facsimiles of the original texts.

A PDF bibliography for the Mester de Clérecía literary genre.

A website that contains a corpus of chivalric and chivalric-realted works.

The Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies presents this online library of early Spanish texts. A full user guide is available on the website.

The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

Europeana.eu is a digital library containing 4 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.

Created by Profs. Kasten and Nitti of the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the 70's, this data bank is part of a project to utilize digitized formats of medieval texts to contribute to the compilation of dictionaries. The site is now working to offer their textual archives in an on-line format while still preserving its original structure. Some available texts are: prose works of Alfonso X el sabio, Spanish medical texts, Navarro-Aragonese texts, Spanish legal texts, Spanish biblical texts, Spanish poetic texts, and early Celestina texts

Detailed bibliography of La Celestina, as well as a list of recommended editions and the main themes present in the work.

A collection of full-text, out-of-print university press monographs. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries.

A bibliography of the Libro de Buen Amor, encompassing books as well as journal articles and conference proceedings.

A free internet-based bio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance.

Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

A database that provides access to the Léxico hispanoamericano, Corpus of Hispanic Chivalric Romances, The Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies, the Hispanic Society of America, and Parnaseo. It also has a link to early editions of La Celestina.

UNESCO's World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

A database that contains links to various sites with online editions of medieval Spanish texts.

The USTC has now absorbed all our data for the period 1601-1650, so that we provide full coverage of the first two centuries of print in all our searches and analysis. We have added an extra one million copies, with, as far as possible, call numbers. We now have located copies from 8,500 libraries, archives and museums.
The USTC now comprises 740,000 editions with 4,000,000 surviving copies. Additional data to be added over the next weeks will take this total to 780,000 editions. The USTC now includes descriptions of some 40,000 single-sheet items, and this too will climb rapidly as we incorporate several thousand further items that we have discovered in our searches in archives.

The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide.
The database records nearly every item printed from movable type before 1501, but not material printed entirely from woodblocks or engraved plates. 30,518 editions are listed as of August 2016, including some 16th-century items previously assigned incorrectly to the 15th century.

Try Google Books to find books on your topic. Many titles in Google Books include a limited preview of the text that will help you decide whether you want to borrow a copy via the library. Some titles even include the complete text!

WorldCat is a catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives, manuscripts, scores, and computer files owned by more than 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. More than 400 languages are represented.