Spanish Golden Age Literature : Texts

The Biblioteca Digital Hispánica offers a collection of electronic sources ranging from art, astronomy, biology, botany, civil war propaganda, culture, literature, etc.

The Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes offers a wide variety of electronic Spanish texts, which you can search for by title or author (the website is a little challenging to navigate).

La Biblioteca Nacional offers some of the most important resources on and archives of old Spanish theater. Its collection of manuscripts contains over 2,000 items from the Golden Age.

The CERL Portal gives access to descriptions of manuscripts of all periods and early printed materials (up to 1830) in collections in Europe, the United States and Australia. The Portal searches these collections simultaneously and offers the search results grouped by library. The full display will offer you the most important details, but not the entire record. For the full records, please follow the link to the original database provided in each record. There you can make use of the more extensive search possibilities offered by the source database, which in many cases will include access to digitized images. The CERL Portal is an initiative of the Consortium of European Research Libraries.

Europeana.eu is a digital library containing 4 million items, including images, texts, audio and video, from European museums, galleries, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.

Electronic versions of works by important Ibero-American writers, such a Miguel de Cervantes, Hernan Cortes, Esteban Echevarria, Eugenio Maria de Hostos, and Juana Ines de la Cruz.

A free internet-based bio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance.

Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

El Quijote Interactivo is a project that creates an innovative approach to the first edition of Cervantes's masterwork, preserved in the Biblioteca Nacional de España.

This is a full text database containing more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists from sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain. Each play is reproduced in full, including the "Preliminaries" which contain "aprobaciones", "censuras", and "privilegios." Can browse the complete list of dramas in the database and then select any work for display, starting at the beginning or going directly to a particular act and scene.

UNESCO's World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

The Corpus Biblia Medieval is an electronic source that allows you to access various versions of conserved medieval bibles as well as study facsimiles of the original texts.

A selection of historical grammatical treatises that includes, among others, Nebrija's "Gramática de la lengua española" and Villena's "El arte de trovar".

The Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies presents this online library of early Spanish texts. A full user guide is available on the website.

The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

Try Google Books to find books on your topic. Many titles in Google Books include a limited preview of the text that will help you decide whether you want to borrow a copy via the library. Some titles even include the complete text!

WorldCat is a catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives, manuscripts, scores, and computer files owned by more than 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. More than 400 languages are represented.