The Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures. Although this part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet, it now contains hundreds of texts made available locally.
Covers various aspects of world exploration from Antarctica to the North Pole; from the discovery of the New World to the age of space exploration. This illustrated reference work features 750 articles, selected by a group of editors and advisers to examine exploration from different angles: thematically, geographically, and biographically.
In addition to providing general information on the history and culture of Spain, as well as biographical information on authors of Spanish literature, this site provides access to full text PDFs of numerous works of Spanish literature (including poetry, theater and prose narrative).
A website dedicated to various facets of Spanish culture including architecture, art, history, and literature. The link to 'Spanish Literature' contains several short summaries and studies of different themes in texts ranging from the Medieval to Golden Age.
This website allows you to quickly and easily search more than 100 million words in more than 20,000 Spanish texts from the 1200s to the 1900s. The interface allows you to search for exact words or phrases, wildcards, lemmas, part of speech, or any combinations of these.
This database, created by the Real Academia Española, contains over 200 million words of the Spanish language from earliest times to 1975. The corpus is drawn from the widest range of texts in order to provide the fullest panorama of the Spanish language.
This website allows you to quickly and easily search more than 45 million words in almost 57,000 Portuguese texts from the 1300s to the 1900s. The interface allows you to search for exact words or phrases, wildcards, lemmas, part of speech, or any combinations of these.
The Diccionario de la lengua española de la Real Academia Española or DRAE is the most authoritative dictionary of the Spanish language. With over 85,000 entries and almost 200,000 definitions, including many referring to terms from Latin America and the Philippines, the DRAE also gives indications of usage and historical significance. An essential online reference tool for anyone working with the Spanish language.
The Spanish Paleography Digital Teaching and Learning Tool is an online interactive resource to assist users in the learning of the deciphering and reading of manuscripts written in Spanish during the early modern period, roughly from the late 15th to the 18th century. This Tool presents digitized manuscripts, typed transcriptions and sample alphabets to help the user decipher and read the early-modern Spanish handwriting styles. The main content of the Spanish Paleography Tool consists of a selected number of digital copies of manuscripts from La Española dating from sixteenth and seventeenth century. The sample manuscripts showcased in the Tool are representative of the different handwriting styles prevalent throughout the Spanish-language world during early modern times: cortesana handwriting, procesal handwriting, encadenada handwriting, and humanística handwriting. This tool is an open source project of the CUNY Dominican Studies Institue (CUNY DSI) at the City College of New York.
Tutorials for Navigating Library Resources
Quick videos that overview the basics of doing research on the UW-Madison library site: