Violence: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Terrorism
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Global Counterterrorism ForumThe Global Counterterrorism Forum (GCTF) is an international forum of 29 countries and the European Union with an overarching mission of reducing the vulnerability of people worldwide to terrorism by preventing, combating, and prosecuting terrorist acts and countering incitement and recruitment to terrorism.
- Federation of American ScientistsThe Federation of American Scientists (FAS) provides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security. Specifically, FAS works to reduce the spread and number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, illuminate government secrecy practices, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons.
About Terrorism
This guide will assist you in finding materials on terrorism used as a means of resistance to the modern state.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: terrorism and religio*, terroris* and airport security, terroris* and immigration, terroris* and civil libert*, terroris* and united states and border, white national* and terror*, syria and (civilian* or refugee*), terroris* and mumbai, terroris* and hate group*, cyberterroris*, terroris* and extremis*
Overview Resources - Background Information
- U.S. State Department - Bureau of CounterterrorismThe Bureau of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism’s mission is to promote U.S. national security by taking a leading role in developing coordinated strategies and approaches to defeat terrorism abroad and securing the counterterrorism cooperation of international partners.
- Council on Foreign Relations - TerrorismFrom the Council on Foreign Relations, a nonpartisan organization; an abundance of information can be accessed here on topics related to terrorism and terrorist attacks throughout the world.
- Southern Poverty Law Center - Hate and ExtremismThe SPLC monitors hate groups and other extremists throughout the United States and expose their activities to the public, the media and law enforcement.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
While America Sleeps: A Wake-Up Call for the Post-9/11 Era by ISBN: 9780307952523Publication Date: 2012-02-21
The Origins of ISIS: The Collapse of Nations and Revolution in the Middle East by ISBN: 9781784536961Publication Date: 2017-02-28
The Awful Grace of God: Religious Terrorism, White Supremacy, and the Unsolved Murder of Martin Luther King, Jr. by ISBN: 9781582438306Publication Date: 2012-03-27
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- SocINDEXIncludes articles on sociology and social sciences topics.
- PsycINFOIncludes articles on psychology topics.
Statistics
- FBI: Uniform Crime ReportingThe Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. Contains statistics about hate crimes in the US.
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
Videos
- ISIS, birth of a terrorist stateThis film covers the rise of Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi and the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), and explains the significance of its proclamation of a Caliphate and its status as a terrorist group controlling vast territory and resources.
- Our Own Private Bin LadenOur own private Bin Laden studies the relationship between economic structures of "terror" and "the war on terror," their interdependencies, and the consequential creation of the Bin Laden industry. The film explains why the world after September 11, 2001 is less the result of an act of terror but more the product of decisions made following 1945.