Violence: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Gun Control
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Wisconsin Gun OwnersWGO works for grassroots gun owners, not politicians. While many gun lobbies fight for "reasonable gun control," WGO sets a higher standard: Defining the terrain of pro-gun political battle. Sure, many groups claim they're "pro-gun" — all the while they provide cover for anti-gun deals cut by politicians — but only WGO truly informs gun owners, remaining committed to a 100% pro-gun position.
- Brady Center to Prevent Gun ViolenceThis organization is chaired by Sarah Brady. Their Legal Action Project is committed to reforming the gun industry and how guns are marketed and sold in the United States.
- Citizen Committee for the Right to Keep and Bear ArmsA sister site of the Second Amendment Foundation.
- Coalition to Stop Gun ViolenceThe Coalition to Stop Gun Violence (CSGV), was originally formed in 1975 as the National Coalition to Ban Handguns (NCBH) "for the purposes of banning the importation, manufacture, sale, transfer, ownership and possession of handguns." In 1989, after expanding its efforts to include restrictions on all firearms, the group adopted its new name, Coalition to Stop Gun Violence.
- Gun Owners of America (GOA)This non-profit lobbying organization was formed in 1975 to preserve and defend the Second Amendment rights of gun owners.
- National Rifle Association of America (NRA)In addition to information on its membership, programs and policies, this NRA internet site provides a wealth of statistics and literature supporting a pro-gun rights agenda.
- Second Amendment FoundationThe Second Amendment Foundation supports the right to privately own and possess firearms. Its educational and legal action programs are designed to inform the public about the gun control debate.
- Violence Policy Center (VPC)The VPC is an educational foundation working to reduce firearms violence in America. Its internet pages offer statistics and policy statements on firearm violence and deaths, domestic violence and firearms legislation.
About Gun Control
This guide provides information on the Constitutional protections of the right to bear arms and the efforts of gun control advocates to strengthen laws on the ownership and licensing of firearms.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: gun control, firearms, firearm laws, firearms AND school violence, gun* AND violence, firearms laws AND regulations, firearms possession, second amendment
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Stand Your Ground: A History of America's Love Affair with Lethal Self-Defense by ISBN: 9780807064665Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Guns Don't Kill People, People Kill People: And Other Myths About Gun Control by ISBN: 9780807088845Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Rampage Nation: Securing America from Mass Shootings by ISBN: 9781633880665Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PsycINFOInformation about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Statistics and Data
- Centers for Disease Control: Stats of the StatesThe U.S. CDCP National Center for Injury Prevention and Control keeps statistics on firearm deaths by state from 2005, 2014-2017.
- Center for Disease Control: FastStats InjuryThe FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics. U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice StatisticsAn index of links to data tables that mention guns or firearms in this compilation of crime statistics. Statistics are compiled by the Utilization of Criminal Justice Statistics Project, a collaboration between the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center and the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics.