Sports: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Sports Mascots
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- The Badger HeraldThe Badger Herald is the nation’s largest fully independent student newspaper located in Madison, Wisconsin. The Herald publishes weekly print editions and provides 24-hour online coverage.
- The Daily CardinalThe Daily Cardinal is published in print Monday and Thursday and distributed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and in the surrounding community with a circulation of 10,000. The Cardinal is a nonprofit organization run by its staff members and elected editors.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- National Congress of American IndiansNCAI was established in 1944 in response to the termination and assimilation policies the US government forced upon tribal governments in contradiction of their treaty rights and status as sovereign nations. To this day, protecting these inherent and legal rights remains the primary focus of NCAI.
- National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA)A website with information on sports in colleges and universities across the country.
About Sports Mascots
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: sports team mascots, Native American mascots, Indians and mascots, sports team mascots and social aspects, mascots and ethnic identity, mascots and stereotyp*, sports team mascots and attitudes, racism and sports
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Mascot Nation: The Controversy Over Native American Representations in Sports by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780252050848Publication Date: 2018-10-08
Redskins? Sports Mascots, Indian Nations, and White Racism by ISBN: 1612057403Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Indian Spectacle: College Mascots and the Anxiety of Modern America by ISBN: 9780813565552Publication Date: 2015-04-02
Yes, It's Hot in Here: Adventures in the Weird, Woolly World of Sports Mascots by ISBN: 9781623360030Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Contesting Constructed Indian-Ness: The Intersection of the Frontier, Masculinity, and Whiteness in Native American Mascot Representations by ISBN: 9780739178645Publication Date: 2013-05-16
Native American Identity in Sports: Creating and Preserving a Culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781283734547Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Critter Costuming: Making Mascots and Fabricating Fursuits by ISBN: 9780615584232Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- SPORTDiscusThe SPORTDiscus with Full Text database covers both serial and monographic literature in several areas of sport.
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
Statistics
Videos
- Being Bucky (videorecording) byCall Number: College Library Open Book Videos, 1st Floor, Rm. 1250 D Being Bucky
- In Whose Honor?The Cleveland Indians. Washington Redskins. Atlanta Braves. What's wrong with American Indian sports mascots? This moving, award-winning film is the first of its kind to address that subject. In Whose Honor? takes a critical look at the long-running practice of "honoring" American Indians as mascots and nicknames in sports.