Sports: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Yoga
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Fan Culture
- Paying Student Athletes
- Sports & Drugs
- Sports Mascots
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Yoga AllianceYoga Alliance is the largest nonprofit association representing the yoga community. Our mission is to promote and support the integrity and diversity of the teaching of yoga.
This guide will help you find resources and information on yoga, including claims about its benefits and its history and culture.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: yoga AND therapy, yoga AND spirituality, yoga AND history, yoga AND benefits, yoga AND mindfulness, yoga AND "mind and body", yoga AND stress
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoint in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Yoke by Jessamyn StanleyCall Number: ebookISBN: 1523505214Publication Date: 2021-06-22
- Every Body Yoga: Let Go of Fear, Get on the Mat, Love Your Body by Jessamyn StanleyCall Number: ebookISBN: 9781523500208Publication Date: 2017-04-04
- The Science of Yoga: The Risks and the Rewards by William J. BroadISBN: 1451641427Publication Date: 2012-02-07
- An Introduction to Indian Philosophy by Christopher BartleyISBN: 9781472532251Publication Date: 2015-09-24
- The Subtle Body: The Story of Yoga in America by Stefanie SymanISBN: 9780374236762Publication Date: 2010-06-22
- Yoga Body: The Origins of Modern Posture Practice by Mark SingletonISBN: 9780195395341Publication Date: 2010-02-10
- The Athlete's Pocket Guide to Yoga: 50 Routines for Flexibility, Balance & Fitness by Sage RountreeISBN: 9781934030417Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Articles- Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search CompleteMulti-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,650 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications
- PubMedIncludes articles related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- JSTOR: The Scolarly Journal ArchiveJSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics.
- Alt HealthWatchThis database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
- Yoga Journal complete beginner's guideWill give you the surest foundation for starting your yoga practice. First, get to know the most essential yoga poses with Yoga Journal's one-of-a-kind video pose encyclopedia. Every pose is presented in a 360 degree view and is accompanied by an in-depth tutorial, so you can safely and effectively learn the basics of each posture.
- Yoga for beginnersFeatures a full length Yoga program, and an on-screen visual pose guide which serves as a personal tutorial. Select any of the 19 featured poses and then see it broken down step-by-step for truly easy learning.