Animal Research Alternatives and Animal Care : Databases
Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters
Follow 
(Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
- request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.
AWIC Recommended Databases
AWIC (Animal Welfare Information Center) provides links to databases with information on biomedical research, biological science, animal science, veterinary medicine, fish and wildlife research, toxicology and specialized alternative methods.
For quick links to AWIC recommended databases that require subscription access, please see sections below.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Large multidisciplinary databases are great starting points to search for animal alternatives in the scientific literature. Much of the content in these databases requires subscription access through the UW-Madison Libraries.
-
Google ScholarScholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources.
-
PubMed/MedlineCovers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
-
ScienceDirectInformation platform of scientific, technical, and medical research content from journals, books, series, and reference works published by Elsevier.
-
ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
Web of ScienceCollection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
Specialized Subject Databases
Subject databases may contain literature on your topic not found in other databases. Here are links to AWIC recommended subject databases you can access through the UW-Madison Libraries:
-
AGRICOLA (US National Agricultural Library)Database (ProQuest) provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields including journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports.
-
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)Index to scholarly journals, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and grey literature related fisheries, aquatic, and marine sciences.
-
ERIC - Educational Resources Information CenterReferences to published and unpublished texts on education topics sourced from journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and more.
-
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity WorldwideArticle database covers all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology, with citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s.
-
International Pharmaceutical AbstractsCitation database of pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published worldwide since 1970; covers drug therapy and pharmaceutical information and current health-related drug literature.
-
APA PsycINFOLarge database covering the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health, including the psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, education, physiology, business, law, and more.
-
Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideLiterature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, books, proceedings, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, dissertations, field studies, and more.
-
Zoological RecordDatabase covering all aspects of zoology and animal sciences, including behavior, biodiversity, conservation, ecology, physiology, taxonomy, evolution, morphology, nomenclature and zoogeography.
-
PubAgPubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.