- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Animal Research Alternatives and Animal Care
- Public Databases & Websites
Animal Research Alternatives and Animal Care : Public Databases & Websites
A guide for finding alternatives to the use of animals in laboratory research.
Federally-Funded Research Projects Databases
Project databases can help you find examples of federally funded research.
- CRIS - Current Research Information SystemProvides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the USDA
- NIH RePORTERRepository of NIH-funded research projects
- NTIS- National Technical Information ServiceProvides access to government-funded scientific, engineering, technical, and business related information.
- Research.govProvides information about how federal research dollars are being spent, what research is being performed, and how the outcomes of research are benefiting society as a whole.
- USDA Research, Education, and Economics Information System (REEIS)Research, education and extension programs, projects and activities of the USDA and partner institutions
Animal Alternatives Databases
There are several free animal alternatives databases that contain materials relevant to the reduction, refinement, and replacement of animals in laboratory research and teaching.
- ALTBIBResources for Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing
- AnimAlt-ZEBETDatabase on alternative methods to animal experiments.
- Animal Welfare Institute: Enrichment and Refinement DatabasesPrimate Enrichment Database, Lab Animal Refinement Database and Database of Refinement and Environmental Enrichment for All Laboratory Animals.
- Database on Alternative Methods to Animal Experimentation (DB-ALM)Database on advanced alternative methods in biomedical sciences, providing factual and evaluated (therefore ready-to-use) informative data sheets on advanced non-animal test development and validation for toxicology assessments
- NORINA - Norwegian Reference Centre Alternatives DatabaseAudiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching and training.
- North American 3Rs CollaborativeNon-profit organization with a mission to advance science, innovation, and research animal welfare. Provides evidence-based resources and strategies for implementing the 3R's
Animal Alternatives Web Resources
There are many centers and organizations dedicated to animal alternatives and animal welfare. These can be a good place to find supplemental information, and deepen background understanding.
- American Association for Laboratory Animal ScienceA forum for the exchange of information and expertise in the care and use of laboratory animals.
- Animal Welfare InstituteThe Animal Welfare Institute is a non-profit organization founded to reduce the pain inflicted on animals including improving the housing and handling of animals used for experimentation and pushing for the development of animal research alternatives.
- ANZCCART ResourcesAnimal welfare information from the Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching.
- Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal CareAAALAC International is a private, nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs.
- AWIC Animal Welfare Information Center (USDA)Provides information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, teaching, and exhibition.
- Biograf 3RA non-profit research organization dedicated to the reduction and replacement of animal testing by computational methods.
- Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (CAAT)The Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing is an academic center affiliated with the Division of Toxicological Sciences in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences of the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.
- Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments (FRAME)Supports efforts to reduce the numbers of animals used through better science and better experimental design, and to refine procedures so that the suffering of any animals necessarily used is minimised.
- Gateway to Farm Animal Welfare (FAO)Provides a wide range of information related to the welfare of farm animals.
- IACUC.orgInstitutional Animal Care and Use Committee of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science.
- Institute for Laboratory Animal Research (ILAR)ILAR's mission is to evaluate and disseminate information on issues related to the scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources in research, testing, and education.
- interNICHESupports progressive science teaching and the replacement of animal experiments by working with teachers to introduce alternatives, and with students to support freedom of conscience.
- Laboratory Animal ResourcesBiomedical Research Model Services is the provider of laboratory animal care and husbandry for the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health’s AAALAC accredited animal program.
- National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement, and Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs)Provides a UK focus for the promotion, development and implementation of the 3Rs in animal research and testing.
- NTP Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM)Provides information about approaches used to replace, reduce, or refine animal use while ensuring that the toxic potential of substances is appropriately characterized.
- Office for Laboratory Animal Welfare (NIH)Provides guidance and interpretation of the Public Health Service (PHS) Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals.