- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Animal Research Alternatives and Animal Care
- Books, Articles, Tipsheets
Animal Research Alternatives and Animal Care : Books, Articles, Tipsheets
A guide for finding alternatives to the use of animals in laboratory research.
Online, Openly Available, Animal Care Books
Suggested books openly available online:
Essentials for Animal Research: A Primer for Research Personnel by ISBN: 0788136356
Guide for the care and use of laboratory animals by ISBN: 0309153964- Principles of Humane Experimental Technique by ISBN: 0900767782
Recognition and Alleviation of Pain in Laboratory Animals by ISBN: 030912834X
Animal Care Books in UW-Madison Libraries
Search the Library Catalog to identify print or online books and journals made available by UW-Madison Libraries. Suggested search terms:
- laboratory animal
- IACUC
- animal care
- animal welfare
Suggested books available to UW Madison faculty, staff, and students:
- The Care and Feeding of an IACUC by Maintaining its user-friendly approach, The Care and Feeding of an IACUC: The Organization and Management of an Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, Second Edition is a handy guide for members of the laboratory animal community looking for a concise, descriptive introduction to what an IACUC is all about and how it operates. The book covers training programs and discusses professional certifications for IACUC administrative and animal care staff. It provides pointers to principal investigators, discusses interactions between IACUCs and other compliance panels, and addresses occupational health and safety programs and the role they play in the overall animal care and use program. This new edition of a bestseller contains new information on international regulations regarding animal subject research and the requirements for an ethics panel review. It discusses outside collaborations, interinstitutional memorandums of understanding, and the differences in regulations between countries. The book also includes a new chapter exploring semiannual program reviews, semiannual inspections, and postapproval monitoring. The contributors provide updated information on the protocol submission process, electronic protocol management systems, and records management--including the essential elements of the protocol form and how to complete it. The book also delves deeply into bioethics. It discusses how IACUCs can ensure that each proposal to use animals in research includes an ethical review with a harm-benefit analysis weighing the expected advancements in human and animal health against the potential harm inflicted to the animal. Also included is a chapter on how to survive a regulatory inspection or an accreditation site visit. All interpretations of the regulations have been reviewed by staff at the NIH Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare (OLAW), the Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC), and USDA APHIS/Animal Care (AC) for consistency and compliance with the PHS Policy and the USDA Animal Welfare Act Regulations (AWAR).ISBN: 9781482201109Publication Date: 2015-03-24
- The COST Manual of Laboratory Animal Care and Use by Judge Your Practices Against This Benchmark Manual COST Action B-24 established four working groups to research and discuss issues relevant to laboratory animal science. These included the housing of animals, environmental needs, refinement of procedures, genetically modified animals, and cost-benefit analysis. Based on the groups' findings, The COST Manual of Laboratory Animal Care and Use: Refinement, Reduction, and Research provides a consensual European view of best practices for individuals and institutions caring for and working with laboratory animals. What is COST? COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) is an intergovernmental initiative that promotes coordination of nationally funded science and research at a European level. This book focuses on reduction and refinement strategies and includes insightful contributions from 44 experts drawn from various EU countries. Addressing only the most commonly used mammalian species--rats, mice, and rabbits--each chapter of the book follows a similar structure: Objectives outline the breadth of the chapter's coverage Key Factors summarize the central issues that underpin good practice Questions Unresolved close each chapter, identifying areas of uncertainty and prompting investigations directed at advancing knowledge and application within relevant fields The COST Manual of Laboratory Animal Care and Use: Refinement, Reduction, and Research is the reference sure to be found in the lab coats of those responsible for the care and welfare of animals and those overseeing and conducting activities related to the use of animals for scientific purposes.ISBN: 9781439824924Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Handbook of Laboratory Animal Science, Volume I by
Laboratory animal testing provides most of our current knowledge of human physiology, microbiology, immunology, pharmacology, and pathology. From studies of genetics in fruit flies to studies of cellular processes in genetically modified mice to recent dramatic developments in genetics, translational research, and personalized medicines, biomedical
ISBN: 9781420084566Publication Date: 2010-12-02
The IACUC Handbook by
Ever since its establishment by USDA regulation in the mid-1980s, the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) has evolved as the premier instrument of animal welfare oversight within research institutions in the United States. As biomedical research continuously grows, the role and impact of the IACUC has increased in scope and complexity. The IACUC Handbook has become "the Bible" for individuals when the time comes for them to serve on their institution's IACUC. It provides a foundation for understanding and implementing the many and varied responsibilities of this committee. This Third Edition comprehensively addresses the significant changes in the pertinent regulatory environment and interpretation of applicable federal laws, regulations, and policies. It provides multiple references and commentary on the new edition of the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, the new AVMA Guidelines for the Euthanasia of Animals: 2013 Edition, and the Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare's Frequently Asked Questions. The Third Edition also features an updated survey of IACUC practices from institutions around the United States, offering wisdom gained from their experience. In addition, it includes a chapter that provides an international perspective on how animal welfare reviews can function in other countries.
ISBN: 9781466555648Publication Date: 2014-05-20- Laboratory Animal Welfare by Laboratory Animal Welfare provides a comprehensive, up-to-date look into the new science of animal welfare within laboratory research. Animals specifically considered include rodents, cats and dogs, nonhuman primates, agricultural animals, avian animals and aquatic animals. The book examines the impact of experiment design and environment on animal welfare, as well as emergency situations and euthanasia practices. Readers will benefit from a review of regulations and policy guidelines concerning lab animal use, as well as information on assessing animal welfare. With discussions of the history and ethics of animals in research, and a debate on contemporary and international issues, this book is a go-to resource for laboratory animal welfare.ISBN: 9780123851031Publication Date: 2013-10-30
Management of Laboratory Animal Care and Use Programs by
The management of biomedical research using animals has become increasingly complex due to new technology, increased regulatory oversight, and recognition of the need for animals free of disease and distress. Within this changing environment, individuals charged with the management of laboratory animal facilities have a substantial responsibility to the institution, the public, and the animals. Management of Laboratory Animals Care and Use Programs provides both factual and theoretical information drawn from the substantial experience of authors who are noted experts in the field. This book will provide individuals with the basic knowledge and information necessary to meet typical professional challenges. A co-publication with the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, this valuable book serves as the text for the Certified Manager Animal Resources (CMAR) exam.
ISBN: 0849322871Publication Date: 2001-11-28
Managing the Laboratory Animal Facility by
Most people in research are elevated into managerial positions because of their skills as scientists and their political acumen, not necessarily because of managerial training or experience. Helping to fill this need for managerial training, author Jerald Silverman shares the valuable information he's gained from over 25 years experience managing a laboratory animal facility. He takes proven managerial concepts and adapts them to the laboratory animal facility setting. Whether you are a manager in training or you are looking for help in applying the basic concepts of managing a laboratory animal facility, this book helps you fulfill the unique responsibilities of assessing needs, communicating effectively, and establishing goals with people from many different academic and skill levels.
ISBN: 0849312337Publication Date: 2001-10-18
Principles of Laboratory Animal Science by
The welfare of laboratory animals, as well as the ethical issues involved in the humane use of animals for scientific purposes, are discussed in this new revised edition. Information is included on the biology and husbandry of animal models; on behavior, stress and well-being; genetic and microbiological standardization; health monitoring; anaesthesiology; animal alternatives; ethics. This book addresses all of the aspects that scientists need to know when considering the design of an animal experiment. Replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experiments are the guiding principles for its contents.
ISBN: 0444506128Publication Date: 2001-05-22
The UFAW Handbook on the Care and Management of Laboratory and Other Research Animals by
The seminal reference on the care of laboratory and captive animals, The UFAW Handbook on the Care and Management of Laboratory and Other Research Animals is a must-have for anyone working in this field. The UFAW Handbook has been the definitive text since 1947. Written for an international audience, it contains contributions from experts from around the world. The book focuses on best practice principles throughout, providing comprehensive coverage, with all chapters being peer reviewed by anonymous referees. As well as addressing the husbandry of laboratory animals, the content is also of great value to zoos and aquaria. Changes for the eighth edition: Revised and updated to reflect developments since publication of the previous edition. New chapters on areas of growing concern, including: the 3Rs; phenotyping; statistics and experimental design; welfare assessment; legislation; training of people caring for lab animals; and euthanasia. All material combined into one volume for ease of reference. This book is published on behalf of UFAW (The Universities Federation for Animal Welfare), with whom we also publish the UFAW/Wiley-Blackwell Animal Welfare Book Series. This major series of books provides an authoritative source of information on worldwide developments, current thinking and best practice in the field of animal welfare science and technology. For details of all of the titles in the series see www.wiley.com/go/ufaw.
ISBN: 1405175230Publication Date: 2010-04-12
