Art and Art History : Regions / Places
collection of e-resources useful for art historical research
Librarian Profile
Europe-focused Databases
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first]
This list only supplements those core resources.
- Digital Library of the Museo del PradoDigitized books and journals from the Prado Museum's collection, from end of 15th century through the beginning of 20th century. Includes digitized rare books illustrated by Dürer, Rubens, Goya, Toulouse-Lautrec, and more.
- Europeana (portal)Search engine for digitized collections of museums, libraries, archives, galleries across Europe.
- RDK-Web (Reallexikon zur deutschen Kunstgeschichte)A-F entries only. See print version also:
http://search.library.wisc.edu/catalog/ocm01223691
http://madcat.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?BBID=758940
US/Americas-focused Databases
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first]
This list only supplements those core resources.
Wisconsin Artists
- Wisconsin Artists (by Milwaukee Public Library)Index of names from over 50 books on Wisconsin artists. NOTE: Link opens a MS Word document.
- Wisconsin Artists Research Bibliography (by Kohler Art Library)Bibliography of books on Wisconsin art with lists of artists mentioned.
Africa-focused Databases
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first]
This list only supplements those core resources.
Asian Studies Resources
- New Books in East Asian HistoryA frequently-updated list from the Society for the Promotion of International English-Language Scholarship on East Asian Art History
- Art Platform JapanJapanese Art research portal organized by the National Center for Art Research (NCAR). Covers modern and contemporary art and museum collections, includes reading lists, artworks, and bibliographies, and catallogues.