Art and Art History : Major Resources

Online full-text version of a 34 volume encyclopedia with signed entry articles written by art historians.

An overview of art history, the Heilbrunn Timeline pairs essays and works of art with chronologies,
telling the story of art and global culture
through the Museum’s collection.

Thorough coverage of arts of all periods and regions; includes citations or full text for 750+ art journals. Coverage from 1984-present

Covers art journals from 1929-1984

ABM focuses on art from the late 19th century to the present.

Focuses on European/American art from c. 400 A.D. to the present. Includes citations from 1975-2007. See International Bibliography of Art for continuation.

Begins with 2008 data. Focus is European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Continues BHA.

Contains full text of c. 120 art-related journals. Recent years are omitted.

Online collection of key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of art and architectural history published by: The Art Institute of Chicago, The MIT Press, Yale University Press, Harvard Art Museums, and the Yale University Art Gallery. The portal allows the user to browse all images (by artist, title, or date) and allows instructors to easily create custom course packs.

Comprehensive database covering more than 2,100 journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities, with a focus on literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Good for finding reviews, obituaries, and features. International and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Ads, obituaries, graphics typically not included. To access the source directory, click the main "Sources" tab from any page, or click the "More Sources" link from a Search form. The Wisconsin State Journal, 1992-to date; and The Capital Times, 1992-to date.

A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics, including art. An essential inter-disciplinary database, it is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. Not full-text.

Provides digital humanities and social sciences books and journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies. Contains topic area for art and architecture.

Includes millions of doctoral dissertations in all subject areas completed at over 700 academic institutions worldwide. Some masters theses are also included.

This version of The Los Angeles Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files.

This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files.

The major index for architecture research.

Focuses on design and crafts journals from 1973-present.

Covers early 20th c. journals important to the development of 20th century design, decorative arts, architecture, and posters.

Indexes 42 art journals published in the United States during the nineteenth century.

Focuses on the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world

Bibliography is in transition, migrating to a public Zotero group.

Contains approximately 1.7 million images in the areas of western and non-western art.

Site poses question to help analyze what is seen; provides information and bibliographies.

Indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary and art theory. The Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements.