- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Art
- Art and Art History
- Times / Eras / Styles
Art and Art History : Times / Eras / Styles
Librarian Profile
Classical Antiquity
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
- Brill's New PaulyEnglish translation of the major encyclopedia covering aspects of the ancient Greek and Roman world.
- DyabolaCheck box to "activate IP address," click "start," then choose the "Archäologische Bibliographie" via the British flag icon.
- Zenon-DAIpublic sister site to Dyabola; a Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Instititute: http://www.clarkart.edu/library/bibliographies/LibraryGuideARTH513Zenon.pdf
- Gnomonbibliography and thesaurus
- ArachneObject database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne
- PHYSICAL BOOKS: Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC)limited access may be available from: http://ancientworldonline.blogspot.com/2013/10/limc-basel-databases-fondation-pour-le.html
Medieval
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
- Brill's Medieval Reference LibraryComplete and unabridged online editions of four reference works in medieval studies: Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450.
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesAvailable through Oxford Reference Online Premium. Use link from the Library Catalog record.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European Historysee the section on Medieval and Renaissance for primary documents
- Iconography: a checklist of some useful sources for scholars and students of medieval art and drama (.pdf)compiled by Clifford Davidson
- International Medieval Bibliography - OnlineClick on "enter databases" and then select the IMB
China
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
Islam
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
Renaissance/Baroque
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
- Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissancetexts of key treatises in original languages
Enlightenment/Early America
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
19th Century/Victorian
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
- The Oxford companion to the photograph [electronic resource]Available through Oxford Reference Online. Use link in the MadCat record.
20th-21st Century
[see MAJOR RESOURCES first] This list only supplements those core resources.
Since the 1980s, online journal databases provide good descriptions of the literature of contemporary research, including commentary on contemporary art. Especially recommended "Major Resources" are: Art Full Text, ARTbibliographies Modern, and Bibliography of the History of Art continued as International Bibliography of Art.
For early/mid 20th century articles, an especially recommended "Major Resource" is Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984).
Other online resources useful for the study of 20th-21st century art and design include the following:
History Research
- America: History and LifeCovers articles on North American (USA, Canada) history.
- Historical AbstractsCovers articles on worldwide history, EXCLUDING North America.
- Magazine StacksTables of contents for German historical journals
History Portal
- WWW-VL History (World Wide Web Virtual Library)"best of" history websites.
History Research Guides
- Learning Historical ResearchUW-Madison Prof. William Cronon and his seminar students explain the process.
- Guide: Introduction to Historical ResearchGuide prepared by UW-Madison's Memorial Library