NCBI's My Bibliography is an application from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) that helps you to compile, manage, and share citations authored by you. It is also a tool that can help you to monitor public access compliance for your NIH funded publications.

Note: For information on monitoring and addressing public access compliance issues, please refer to the Public Access Services website, and refer all public access compliance questions to the Public Access Services team.

You will need to have an NCBI account before you can access My Bibliography.

To create an NCBI account:

1. Go to https://account.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
2. Select an account through which to login. If you don't see your preferred account, click "More Options."
3. Sign in using the same credentials you use for your selected account.
4. If prompted, agree to the terms.
5. You should be redirected to My NCBI. Make sure "Create a new NCBI account" is checkmarked.
6. Click "Continue."
7. In the future, repeat steps 1 through 3 to access your NCBI account.

To access My Bibliography:

1. Sign into NCBI, if you haven't already.
2. Click your username in the upper right-hand corner.
3. From the resulting dropdown, click "Publications."

Click here to access NCBI's Help Guide for My Bibliography. The guide contains instructions for adding citations; viewing citations; making citations private; downloading citations; adding citations to a collection; sorting, filtering, and searching for citations; deleting citations; managing NIH Public Access Compliance; sharing citations; and adding delegates in My Bibliography.

Note: For information on monitoring and addressing public access compliance issues, please refer to the Public Access Services website, and refer all public access compliance questions to the Public Access Services team.

To link your My Bibliography to eRA Commons:

1. Open eRA Commons and sign in. Minimize the window.
2. Sign into your NCBI account, if you're not signed in already.
3. Click your username in the upper right-hand corner.
4. From the resulting dropdown, click "Account Settings."
5. Scroll down until you see the heading for "Linked Accounts." Under this box, click "Add Account."
6. Type "eRA Commons" into the search box. Once you see it appear in your results list, click it.
7. Sign in using your eRA Commons credentials.
8. You should be redirected back to NCBI. In the "Linked Accounts" box you should now see eRA Commons. If you don't see it pop up, try signing out of eRA Commons, then repeating steps 5 through 7.

Now, when you go to My Bibliography, you should see an "eRA linked account" in the upper left-hand corner of the page.

NCBI is saying eRA is already linked to another account! What do I do???

1. If you haven't already, sign into eRA Commons and minimize the window.
2. Log out of your NCBI account (to log out, scroll to the top of the page, click your username in the upper right-hand corner of NCBI, then click "Log Out").
3. Go to https://account.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?
4. If you don't see eRA Commons in the login options, click "Other Login Options" then find eRA Commons. Click it.
5. If prompted, sign in using the same credentials you use to sign into eRA Commons.

This would be the NCBI account you have linked to eRA Commons. To access this account, you can always repeat the above steps to access it. If you would like to see which email is associated with this NCBI account, you can simply click your username in the upper right-hand corner, click "Account Settings", and scroll down to "Linked Accounts."

If you would like to change which NCBI account you have linked to eRA Commons:

1. Sign into eRA Commons, and have it minimized in the background.
2. If you're already signed into NCBI, sign out (you can do this by clicking your username in the upper right-hand corner then clicking "sign out").
3. Go to https://account.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?
4. If you don't see eRA Commons in the login options, click "Other Login Options" then find eRA Commons. Click it.
5. Once you're logged in, click your username in the upper right-hand corner.
6. From the resulting dropdown, click "Account Settings."
7. Scroll down until you see the heading for "Linked Accounts."
8. To the right of "eRA Commons" click the little trash icon.
9. Sign out of your NCBI account
10. Go to https://account.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?
11. Sign into your preferred NCBI account. You may need to click "Other Login Options" to access your preferred one.
12. Click your username in the upper right-hand corner.
13. From the resulting dropdown, click "Account Settings."
14. Scroll down until you see the heading for "Linked Accounts." Under this box, click "Add Account."
15. Type "eRA Commons" into the search box. Once you see it appear in your results list, click it.
16. Sign in using your eRA Commons credentials.
17. You should be redirected back to NCBI. In the "Linked Accounts" box you should now see eRA Commons. If this doesn't work, sign out of eRA Commons, then repeat steps 14 through 16.

The Ebling Library provides education and consultation services for creating and managing researcher profiles.

For additional information, contact Paije Wilson (paije.wilson@wisc.edu) or Trisha Adamus (adamus@wisc.edu)