Journalism & Mass Communication Anti-Racism Resources : Resources for Educators

Collection of primary source materials presents multiple aspects of the African American community, focused on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas.

Full text searchable newspaper covergage of approximately 270 U.S newspapers documenting the African American experience in America from the early 19th century to the end of the 20th century.

African-American Periodicals, 1825-1995, contains fully searchable content from 174 titles published by African-Americans in the 19th and 20th centuries. These include academic titles, as well as commercial magazines, institutional bulletins, annual reports, and other genres, including many short-lived publications not found in any libraries beyond the Wisconsin Historical Society.

Collection of printed works providing insight into African-American culture and life from the beginning of Jim Crow to World War I and beyond. Capturing voices of, by, for, and about African Americans.

News articles, radio transcripts, and television transcripts from around the world, covering race relations in the United States that were collected by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).

Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.

Source for African American video with broad multidisciplinary coverage of culture, politics, social and economic issues. Contains documentaries, primary and secondary source material.

This collection contains approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings from the past 250 years by over 1,000 American black leaders, including artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, and entertainers.

Contains publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more.

IIBP Full Text includes current and selective retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from more than 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides access to more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes several reference works with print counterparts - Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experiences, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America (Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine), and the African American National Biography (over 6,000 biographies).

Materials from the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries documents responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions in the United States.

A searchable, multimedia collection supporting the study of important events and themes related to revolution and protest from the 18th century through the 21st century. Published by Alexander Street.

Newspaper and pamphlet sources for access to research on Civil War era American history.

by The New York Times

developed by Dr. Ashanté M. Reese and Dr. SA Smythe

developed by Dr. Anita Coleman

created by Rachel Cargle

Magazine for social and racial justice in education. Books also available.

If you use a portion or all of this syllabus, please make sure you have the correct attributions, located on the website.

curated by Sarah Bachleda Fiorini, Sydney Carr, Stewart Coles, Dan Hiaeshutter-Rice, Guadalupe Madrigal, Gavin Ploger, Muniba Saleem and Stuart Soroka