Gender, Women's, and Sexuality Studies Portal : Finding Books
Your gateway to gender and women's studies resources at the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond.
Library Catalog
Interlibrary Loan
When items are not available in UW collections, UW-Madison faculty, staff, and students may use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request items from other institutions. See the interlibrary loan page for more information.
Track your requests through your interlibrary loan account. When the book is available, the title will appear in the "Items Available" section of your library account, and you will be notified via email.
Books available through the UW-Madison Libraries
The Library Catalog lists books held by UW-Madison libraries, as well as periodicals, videos, archival materials, digital objects, and more. Use the basic search, or go to Advanced if you want to search within specific fields.
Reference books
A good way to get started on a topic is to look through reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. The Office of the Gender & Women's Studies Librarian has a collection of such books, but many others can also be found across campus libraries and online.
Examples of current GWS-related reference works include:
50 Years of Ms by
The New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice . Acelebration of Ms.-the most startling, most audacious, most norm-breaking of the magazine's groundbreaking pieces on women, men, politics (sexual and otherwise), marriage, family, education, work, motherhood, and reproductive rights, as well as the best of the magazine's fiction, poetry, and letters. . Featuring Billie Jean King, Alison Bechdel, and Audre Lorde, among many others. "I've been a Ms. reader since its earliest days. The magazine's bold, boundary-breaking reporting has motivated me, infuriated me, and inspired me. And now this one extraordinary book-50 Years of Ms.-captures it all." -Jane Fonda,actor and activist "Ms.-in 1972-normalized being a woman, abortion and all. And here we are, 50 years later, needing that now more than ever."-Sarah Silverman,comedian, actor, and writer For the past five decades Ms. has been the nation's most influential source of feminist ideas, and it remains at the forefront of feminism today, affecting thought and culture with a younger-than-ever readership (ages 16-20!). Ms. was the first U.S. magazine to- feature prominent American women demanding the repeal of laws that criminalized abortion explain and advocate for the Equal Rights Amendment rate presidential candidates on women's issues feature domestic violence and sexual harassment on its cover, long before either was widely understood or acknowledged commission and publish a national study on date rape Here is the best reporting, fiction, and advertising, decade by decade, as well as the best photographs and features that reveal and reflect the changes set in motion by Ms., along with the iconic covers that galvanized readers. Here are essays, profiles, conversations with and features by- Alice Walker, Cynthia Enloe, Pauli Murray, Nancy Pelosi, bell hooks, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Brittney Cooper, and Joy Harjo, as well as fiction and poetry by Toni Morrison, Joyce Carol Oates, Adrienne Rich, Rita Dove, and Sharon Olds, and many others.
ISBN: 9780593321560Publication Date: 2023-09-19
Black Feminist Epistemology, Research, and Praxis by
"While there has been an increase of Black women faculty in higher education institutions, the academy writ large continues to exploit, discriminate, and uphold institutionalized gendered racism through its policies and practices. Black women have navigated, negotiated, and learned how to thrive from their respective standpoint and epistemologies, traversing the academy in ways that counter typical narratives of success and advancement. This edited volume bridges together foundational and contemporary intergenerational, interdisciplinary voices to elucidate Black feminist epistemologies and praxis. Chapters highlight relevant research, methodologies, and theoretical or conceptual frameworks; share experiences as doctoral students, current faculty, and academic administrators; and offer lessons learned and strategies to influence systemic and institutional change for, with, and alongside Black women"--
ISBN: 9781032026381Publication Date: 2022-08-01
Black Feminist Theories by
A landmark contribution to the field of Black feminist studies, this book brings together the most influential historical and contemporary thinkers in global Black feminist theories. Featuring groundbreaking new work alongside canonical essays from key thinkers, this book adopts a truly global approach to its subject. In doing so, it looks beyond North America to showcase a diverse range of continents and perspectives. Moving beyond standard academic essays, it also includes vital statements, interviews, manifestoes, creative essays which carry Black feminist thought. The book is broken up into five carefully curated sections: - Black Feminist Classic Texts and Assertions - Statements and Manifestos - Cultures and Aesthetics - Bodies, Genders, and Sexualities - Black Feminist Futures Timely and important, this is an indispensable resource for students and scholars of Black studies, women & gender studies and Black feminist studies, as well as more generally to American studies, African studies, Caribbean studies and African diaspora studies.
ISBN: 9781350446007Publication Date: 2025-11-13
Black Trans Feminism by
In Black Trans Feminism Marquis Bey offers a meditation on blackness and gender nonnormativity in ways that recalibrate traditional understandings of each. Theorizing black trans feminism from the vantages of abolition and gender radicality, Bey articulates blackness as a mutiny against racializing categorizations; transness as a nonpredetermined, wayward, and deregulated movement that works toward gender's destruction; and black feminism as an epistemological method to fracture hegemonic modes of racialized gender. In readings of the essays, interviews, and poems of Alexis Pauline Gumbs, jayy dodd, and Venus Di'Khadijah Selenite, Bey turns black trans feminism away from a politics of gendered embodiment and toward a conception of it as a politics grounded in fugitivity and the subversion of power. Together, blackness and transness actualize themselves as on the run from gender. In this way, Bey presents black trans feminism as a mode of enacting the wholesale dismantling of the world we have been given.
ISBN: 9781478017813Publication Date: 2022-02-25
Black Women in Latin America and the Caribbean by
Black Women in Latin America and the Caribbean: Critical Research and Perspectives employs an intersectional and interdisciplinary approach to examine Black cisgender women's social, cultural, economic, and political experiences in Latin America and the Caribbean. It presents critical empirical research emphasizing Black women's innovative, theoretical, and methodological approaches to activism and class-based gendered racism and Black politics. While there are a few single-authored books focused on Black women in Latin American and Caribbean, the vast majority of the scholarship on Black women in Latin America and the Caribbean has been published as theses, dissertations, articles, and book chapters. This volume situates these social and political analyses as interrelated and dialogic and contributes a transnational perspective to contemporary conversations surrounding the continued relevance of Black women as a category of social science inquiry. Many of the contributing authors are from Latin American and Caribbean countries, reflecting a commitment to representing the valuable observations and lived experiences of scholars from this region. When read together, the chapters offer a hemispheric framework for understanding the lasting legacies of colonialism, transatlantic slavery, plantation life, and persistent socio-economic and cultural violence.
ISBN: 9781978836334Publication Date: 2023-08-11
The Emerald International Handbook of Feminist Perspectives on Women's Acts of Violence by
Violence by women is frequently sensationalised, abetting misogynistic tropes that characterise violent women as 'evil', 'unnatural' and masculine. Favouring more complex analyses of this behaviour, The Emerald International Handbook of Feminist Perspectives on Women's Acts of Violencehighlights and challenges normative accounts of women's violence and offers new multidimensional conceptualisations of these acts, furthering understanding of this topic from a feminist perspective. Responding to a growing research interest, contributors present a comprehensive introduction to a wide range of international and interdisciplinary scholarship on different aspects of women's violence. Drawing on both empirical and secondary data, chapters incorporate familiar themes of intimate violence, homicide, terrorism and combat as well as wider content such as women's involvement in violent nationalist movements and their role in perpetrating obstetric harms. The only publication of its kind in terms of its scope, interdisciplinarity and feminist perspective, The Emerald International Handbook of Feminist Perspectives on Women's Acts of Violencebreaks fresh ground by unveiling how violence is understood and enabling new links and connections to be made across previously disparate areas.
ISBN: 9781803822570Publication Date: 2023-08-02
Feminist and queer theory: an intersectional and transnational reader by
As women's studies departments and programs undergo rapid transformation in higher education, there has been a burgeoning demand for instructional material that addresses feminist and queer studies at all levels in the curricula. Feminist and Queer Theory: An Intersectional and Transnational Reader reflects this vibrantly expanding field and meets the urgent need for theory courses.Feminist and Queer Theory: An Intersectional and Transnational Reader is not simply a feminist theory text that includes queer theories; rather, it theorizes at the intersection of feminist and queer theories, and by doing so, transforms and reshapes the boundaries of the fields. The book invites students to think critically about the limitations of understanding feminist theory as separate, but tangentially related, to queer theory and moves them beyond transnationalism as "additive" to U.S.-centered intersectional perspectives. The book frames feminist and queer inquiry as being articulated through each other and within a global context. It also provide new voices - scholarly, activist, and creative--inside and outside the U.S. that are shaping the field and selections that highlight the importance of im/migration and borders as well as science, technology, and digital cultures.
ISBN: 9780190841799Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Feminist Research in Practice by
Feminist Research in Practice is a supplementary text for undergraduate and graduate research methods courses. The book opens with a detailed examination of feminist methodologies and sociological research methods, followed by twelve chapters offering an in-depth analysis of six research projects. Invited scholars have each contributed two paired chapters: the first is data-driven and includes a description of methods and findings as well as analysis, allowing contributors to highlight their application of feminist methods and approaches in their work. In the second of each pair, contributors offer a close reflection on the research process, including obstacles and the emergence of new inquiries, allowing readers to deepen their own understanding of feminist research as it is practiced. The projects themselves are diverse in focus and approach with both large and small research teams working in varied communities and using an assortment of methods. Feminist Research in Practice closes with an extensive bibliography of recent and established research literature for further consideration.
ISBN: 9781538123911Publication Date: 2019-09-05
Indigenous Justice and Gender by
This new volume offers a broad overview of topics pertaining to gender-related health, violence, and healing. Employing a strength-based approach (as opposed to a deficit model), the chapters address the resiliency of Indigenous women and two-spirit people in the face of colonial violence and structural racism. The book centers the concept of "rematriation"--the concerted effort to place power, peace, and decision making back into the female space, land, body, and sovereignty--as a decolonial practice to combat injustice. Chapters include such topics as reproductive health, diabetes, missing and murdered Indigenous women, Indigenous women in the academy, and Indigenous women and food sovereignty. As part of the Indigenous Justice series, this book provides an overview of the topic, geared toward undergraduate and graduate classes. Contributors Alisse Ali-Joseph Michèle Companion Mary Jo Tippeconnic Fox Brooke de Heer Lomayumtewa K. Ishii Karen Jarratt-Snider Lynn C. Jones Anne Luna-Gordinier Kelly McCue Marianne O. Nielsen Linda M. Robyn Melinda S. Smith Jamie Wilson
ISBN: 9780816549696Publication Date: 2023-05-02
Research Handbook on International Abortion Law by
The Research Handbook on International Abortion Lawprovides an in-depth, multidisciplinary study of abortion law around the world, presenting a snapshot of global policies during a time of radical change. With leading scholars from every continent, Mary Ziegler illuminates key forces that shaped the past and will influence an unpredictable future. In addition to basic, fundamental concepts, this Research Handbook offers valuable insight into new developments in law and medical practice, from medication abortion to the rise of illiberal democracy, and explores the evolution of social movements for and against illegal abortion in a wide variety of national contexts. This is a crucial reference for students, scholars, professors, and policymakers interested in the complexities of abortion law and politics, and the influences that are crossing borders and shaping the present moment.
ISBN: 9781839108143Publication Date: 2023-03-31
Routledge Handbook of Feminist Peace Research by
This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of feminist approaches to questions of violence, justice, and peace. The volume argues that critical feminist thinking is necessary to analyse core peace and conflict issues and is fundamental to thinking about solutions to global problems and promoting peaceful conflict transformation. Contributions to the volume consider questions at the intersection of feminism, gender, peace, justice, and violence through interdisciplinary perspectives. The handbook engages with multiple feminisms, diverse policy concerns, and works with diverse theoretical and methodological contributions. The volume covers the gendered nature of five major themes: * Methodologies and genealogies (including theories, concepts, histories, methodologies) * Politics, power, and violence (including the ways in which violence is created, maintained, and reproduced, and the gendered dynamics of its instantiations) * Institutional and societal interventions to promote peace (including those by national, regional, and international organisations, and civil society or informal groups/bodies) * Bodies, sexualities, and health (including sexual health, biopolitics, sexual orientation) * Global inequalities (including climate change, aid, global political economy). This handbook will be of great interest to students of peace and conflict studies, security studies, feminist studies, gender studies, international relations, and politics. Chapter 9 of this book is freely available as a downloadable Open Access PDF at http://www.taylorfrancis.com under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9780367109844Publication Date: 2021-03-12
Routledge International Handbook of Feminisms and Gender Studies by
This Handbook is an important contribution to the recent history of and contemporary debates on feminist, gender, and women's studies seen in a global perspective. It tackles current developments in the area by examining their multiple configurations in different countries across the world and taking stock of the tensions and controversies that have recently emerged against and within the field. The volume brings together essays from renowned feminist and gender studies academics from the Global North and Global South, together with early stage, emerging scholars. The diversity of the geopolitical and disciplinary locations and the quality of their reflections provide rich, wide-ranging, and interdisciplinary discussions that are rarely found in similar collections, making this an essential resource for advanced students and academics in the field.
ISBN: 9781032181431Publication Date: 2024-11-29
The Routledge International Handbook of Intersectionality Studies by
Intersectionality is one of the most popular theoretical paradigms in gender studies and feminist theory today. Initially developed to explore how gender and race interact in the experiences of US women of colour, it has since been taken up in different disciplines and national contexts, where it is used to investigate a wide range of intersecting social identities and experiences of exclusion and subordination. This volume explores intersectionality studies as a burgeoning international field with a growing body of research, which is increasingly drawn upon in policy, political interventions, and social activism. Bringing together contributors from different disciplines and locations, The Routledge International Handbook of Intersectionality Studies maps the history and travels of intersectionality between continents and countries and takes up debates surrounding the privileged role of race in intersectional analysis, the ways in which intersectional analysis should or should not be carried out, and the political implications of thinking intersectional analysis and thought. Opening up new avenues of enquiry for a future generation of scholars and practitioners, it will appeal to scholars of sociology, gender studies, politics, and cultural studies with interests in feminist thought, social identity, social exclusion, and social inequality.
ISBN: 9780367545048Publication Date: 2023
Routledge International Handbook of Sex Industry Research by
The Routledge International Handbook of Sex Industry Research unites 45 contributions from researchers, sex workers, activists, and practitioners who live and work in 28 countries throughout the world. Focusing tightly on the contemporary state of sex industry research through eight carefully selected themes, this volume sets a clear agenda for future research, activism, and policymaking. Approaching the topic from a multidisciplinary perspective on an expanding field frequently divided by political and ideological conflicts, the handbook clearly establishes the parameters of the field while also showcasing the most vibrant contemporary empirical and theoretical work. Unprecedented in its global scope, the Routledge International Handbook of Sex Industry Research will appeal to students, researchers, and policy makers interested in fields such as sociology of gender and sexuality; crime, justice, and the sex industry; sociology of work and professions; and sexual politics.
ISBN: 9780367580421Publication Date: 2020-06-30
The Routledge International Handbook of Transdisciplinary Feminist Research and Methodological Praxis by
The Routledge International Handbook of Transdisciplinary Feminist Research and Methodological Praxis is organized around ways of doing fair and just research, with deliberate transdisciplinary overlap in each of the sections so as to share and demonstrate potential opportunities for lasting alliances. Authors and artists address topics that include the doing of original transdisciplinary research and engaging multiple communities in research; mentoring from both academic and community-based perspectives; creating and maintaining collaborative relationships; managing personal, professional, and financial challenges; addressing writing blocks and feelings of being overwhelmed; and experiences of care and joy. The range of feminist work invoked in this volume include, but are not limited to: intersectional feminisms, abolitionist feminism, Black feminism, Womanism, Chicana feminism, Latina feminism, BIPOC feminisms, Indigenous feminism, decolonial and postcolonial feminism, transnational feminism, gender and sexuality studies, queer feminism, trans feminisms, poststructural feminism, posthuman and more-than-human feminism, materialist feminism, crip feminism, feminist disability studies, quantum feminism, sonic feminisms, feminist science studies, science and technology studies, or STS, and more. From advanced graduate students to seasoned scholars, this volume presents timely knowledge and will be useful as a substantive guide to round out understandings of multiple approaches to feminist research.
ISBN: 9781032301297Publication Date: 2024-03-07
Transdisciplinary Feminist Research by
What is feminist transdisciplinary research? Why is it important? How do we do it? Through 19 contributions from leading international feminist scholars, this book provides new insights into activating transdisciplinary feminist theories, methods and practices in original, creative and exciting ways - ways that make a difference both to what research is and does, and to what counts as knowledge. The contributors draw on their own original research and engage an impressive array of contemporary theorising - including new materialism, decolonialism, critical disability studies, historical analyses, Black, Indigenous and Latina Feminisms, queer feminisms, Womanist Methodologies, trans studies, arts-based research, philosophy, spirituality, science studies and sports studies - to trouble traditional conceptions of research, method and praxis. The authors show how working beyond disciplinary boundaries, and integrating insights from different disciplines to produce new knowledge, can prompt important new transdisciplinarity thinking and activism in relation to ongoing feminist concerns about knowledge, power and gender. In doing so, the book attends to the multiple lineages of feminist theory and practice and seeks to bring these historical differences and intersections into play with current changes, challenges and opportunities in feminism. The book's practically-grounded examples and wide-ranging theoretical orbit are likely to make it an invaluable resource for established scholars and emerging researchers in the social sciences, arts, humanities, education and beyond.
ISBN: 9780367190040Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Gender and Women's Studies Librarian
Karla Strand
she/her
Contact: University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Website
430 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Dissertations
Ph.D. dissertations are an excellent source for reviews of the literature on the topic of the dissertation. If you are looking for a topic for your own dissertation, it is also critical to know what else has been done already. The Libraries' Dissertation and Theses webpage goes over how to find and obtain them. The main database is ProQuest's Dissertation & Theses. UW-Madison Libraries have purchased access to the full-text of dissertations from around the world in the database from 1997 to the present. (Authors sometimes do not allow full-text display for a period of time. If the full-text is not available and you want to borrow it from the library at the institution where it was written, copy the title and find it in WorldCat.)
UW-Madison dissertations are also cataloged in the Library Catalog.