BME 301: Biomedical Engineering Design and Communication (Spring 2025) : Standards
Using Standards for Design
Standards are established norms or requirements, usually described in a formal document that establishes uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, processes, and practices. Searching standards during design can help you to:
- Identify design constraints from best practices established by experts in the industry
- Comply with laws that specify design and testing criteria
- Reduce your product liability risk by not complying with best practices and/or laws
- Budget for certification testing that may be required or can improve your market position.
UW Libraries owns or subscribes to standards from many standards-producing organizations.
Refer to our Standards research guide to learn more about our standards holdings.
Need a specific standard that we don't own? Request that we purchase it on your behalf.
Standards Available Online
The following are full-text standards databases available through UW Libraries.
- ASABE Technical StandardsStandards developed by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.
- ASTM CompassIncludes all ASTM standards, plus access to a selection of ISO and IEC standards.
- IEEE XploreAll IEEE standards. Use the "Advanced Search" to limit to standards.
If you have requested a standard
Standards purchased by request of UW faculty, staff, and students are made available through Techstreet Enterprise.
- Techstreet EnterpriseAn online standards store that offers standards from leading publishers of industry standards including ASME, ISO, ANSI, ASCE, and many more, and can be used to locate and preview standards before submitting your request.
Free Full Text Standards
- Americans with Disabilities (ADA) Accessibility StandardsBuildings and facilities must be accessible to people with disabilities under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the Architectural Barriers Act. Accessibility standards issued under these laws govern the design, construction, and alteration of many types of buildings and sites in the private and public sectors.
- ASSIST Quick Search (Military Standards)Free access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official Dept of Defense repository.
- EverySpecMilitary and other federal standards.
- FDA Recognized Consensus StandardsUp-to-date list of voluntary consensus standards to which FDA will accept a Declaration of Conformity for medical devices
- ITU-TAll International Telecommunication Union recommendations.
- NASA StandardsNASA-developed standards by standard number.
- National Fire Protection AgencyFire, electrical, and life safety guidelines and requirements.
- NIST List of Freely Available StandardsNational Institute of Standards and Technology list of organizations with freely available standards.
Standards in Print
Use the Library Catalog to locate print standards on campus.
- Search for the word standard* combined with keywords on your topic.
- The catalog will provide the location and call number of the standard. Note that some standards are available by request only.
SAE Standards
How do I get the full text of an SAE J Standard?
- If you have a J standard number or title, a Reference librarian can help you retrieve a PDF copy of these standards.
What years of SAE J Standards does the UW own?
- 2006-2010 - available on CD-ROM - ask a librarian in Steenbock Room 118 for help with accessing the PDF.
- 1961-2005 - in print in the SAE Handbook, available in several campus locations based on year.
- If a J standard is not available (2011 or more recent), request the standard you need using the Request a Standard form.
How can I get SAE Aerospace Standards?
- SAE Aerospace standards may be requested using the Request a Standard form.
Other Campus Standards Resources
- TAPPI StandardsThe Forest Products Laboratory on the UW Madison campus holds TAPPI standards on CD-ROM. Make requests to: pdl_fpl_library@fs.fed.us
Request a Standard
Can't find the standard you need? For UW staff and students, UW Libraries can purchase specific standards through Techstreet Enterprise upon request.
- Techstreet EnterpriseFor UW staff and students, UW Libraries can purchase specific standards through Techstreet Enterprise upon request. Techstreet Enterprise provides full-text PDFs from leading publishers of industry standards including ASME, ISO, ANSI, ASCE, ASME and many more, and can be used to locate and preview standards before submitting your request.
- Request a StandardPlease use this form to submit standards purchase requests.
Get Help from PSET Team
Physical Science & Engineering Team | Science & Engineering Libraries
Email: pset@library.wisc.edu
Schedule a Consultation
Ariel Andrea | Chemistry
Dave Bloom | Steenbock Library
Anne Glorioso | Steenbock Library
Erin Thomas | Steenbock Library
Finding Standards
Standards may be available in print or available online.
The following video provides techniques for finding standards using websites of government agencies, standards organization, standard stores, and competitors.
The following video demonstrates how to access full-text standards from federal agencies and databases (including ASTM) and how to locate print standards.