Violence: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Hate Crimes
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- The New York City Gay and Lesbian Anti-Violence ProjectThis project serves lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender victims of violence. It also strives to educate the public at large about violence directed at these communities and to influence public policy.
- American Civil Liberties UnionOrganization committed to defending the civil liberties of Americans.
- International Gay & Lesbian Human Rights CoalitionProvides international coverage of political issues related to the human rights of gays and lesbians. Coverage includes hate crimes.
- The Anti-Defamation LeagueThe Anti-Defamation League proclaims that it is devoted to combating anti-Semitism and bigotry of all kinds. The site includes op-ed pieces, links to information about hate crimes laws, information about hate crimes incidents against Jews, press releases on extremist groups, and surveys on attitudes about a variety of ethnic groups in the US.
About Hate Crimes
This guide focuses on hate crimes, or crimes committed against others on the basis of characteristics such as race, religion, or sexual orientation.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: hate crime*, hate crime* AND (law or legislation), hate crime* AND blacks, hate crime* AND sexual orientation, hate crime* AND religio*, hate crime* AND Muslim*, hate crime* AND race, hate crime* AND Jews, hate crime* AND gender, racial violence, religious violence, Matthew Shepard and James Byrd Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Civilrights.org: A Social Justice NetworkIncludes an overview and history of the subject, links to resources, and press releases.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Tolerance.orgSponsored by the Southern Poverty Law Center, this site provides links to top news stories about hate and hate crimes, guidance for teachers and parents, and information about hate groups throughout the United States.
- Documenting Hate - ProPublicaIn the absence of reliable national statistics on hate crimes, ProPublica brought together a number of media organizations to systematically track and tell the stories of the commission of hate crimes.
Books
Pursuing Trayvon Martin by
On February 26, 2012, seventeen-year-old African American male Trayvon Martin was shot and killed by George Zimmerman, a twenty-eight-year-old white Hispanic American male in Sanford, Florida. Zimmerman killed Martin in a gated community. Pursuing Trayvon Martin: Historical Contexts and Contemporary Manifestations of Racial Dynamics, featuring a new preface by editors George Yancy and Janine Jones written after the June 2013 trial, examines the societal conditions that fueled the shooting and its ramifications for race relations and violence in America. Pursuing Trayvon Martin: Historical Contexts and Contemporary Manifestations of Racial Dynamics attempts to capture what a critical cadre of scholars think about this potentially volatile situation in the moment. The text addresses issues across various thematic domains that are both broad and relevant. Pursuing Trayvon Martin is an important read for scholars in the fields of philosophy, criminal justice, history, critical race theory, political science, critical philosophies of race, gender studies, sociology, rhetorical studies, and for anyone hungry for critical ways of thinking about the Trayvon Martin case.
ISBN: 9780739194843Publication Date: 2014-05-15
The Harms of Crime Media by
A scan of today's television programming reveals numerous media stories, factual and fictional, featuring some aspect of crime. These depictions can stray far from reality, with the effect of creating and reinforcing distorted impressions. This collection offers a sociological analysis of race, class, and gender stereotypes within crime media. Essays discuss particular examples of inequalities and stereotypes, consider the implications of such portrayals, and demonstrate how they influence the public's expectations and beliefs about real-world crime.
ISBN: 9780786463800Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Queer (In)Justice by
Members of the LGBT+ community have long faced violence against the expression of their identity. This book traces the history of this phenomenon and suggests possible paths forward.
ISBN: 9780807051160Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Hate Crimes and Ethnoviolence by
Over the past twenty years, Howard J. Ehrlich conducted the first national surveys of ethnoviolence, helped design the protocol for identifying hate crimes, and has served as the director of The Prejudice Institute. This collection of essays is the result of his unparalleled research in this vital area of study. Ehrlich introduces the ten dimensions of America's social heritage that are necessary for a complete understanding of prejudice and coherently explains the complex differencesbetween ethnoviolence and hate crimes. Through analysis of network television news programs and in-depth interviews with newspaper editors and reporters, Ehrlich explores how our mainstream media maintains racial and ethnic stereotypes. Case studies (the Oklahoma City bombing, Rodney King riots, Columbine High School shootings, and Hurricane Katrina) show how traumatic events are manipulated by political elites and the news media to shape intergroup relations. Ehrlich concludes with a personaland political look at the concentration of power in the United States and the increasing incidence of political ignorance as a tool of oppression.
ISBN: 9780813344454Publication Date: 2009-02-10
We Too Sing America: South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh Immigrants Shape Our Multiracial Future by
Activist Deepa Iyer writes against the hate South Asian, Arab, Muslim, and Sikh immigrants have faced in the United States in the wake of 9/11. She interrogates the role of the media and the State in perpetuating harmful stereotypes and subjecting these communities to increased surveillance.
Call Number: E184.A1 I94 2015ISBN: 1620970147Publication Date: 2015
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- PsycINFOThis includes a million citations in the field of psychology and also information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for "core coverage" sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings.
Statistics and Data
- FBI Hate Crime StatisticsTabular Reports of Incidents, Offenses, Victims and Offenders reported by State Agencies, by Bias Motivation, by Offense Category, and by Race. Statistics provided range in date from 1995 to 2007.
- National Criminal Justice Reference StatisticsFind hate crime facts & figures, legislation, publications, and related resources. " NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."
- U.S. Department of Education: Campus SecuritySee "Data on Campus Crime" for hate crime statistics in Excel and PDF formats.