Docuseek2
Discover, access, license, stream and share over 800 documentary and social issues films and videos. This database provides educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences. Docuseek2 supports the ability to create clips, playlists, and save searches of the films and videos available through this website.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming platform which offers a broad collection that includes over 26,000 films and videos from 800 top producers such as BBC Active, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus films, Documentary Educational Resources, First Run Features, The Great Courses, Green Planet Films, Kino Lorber Edu, Media Education Foundation, National Film Board of Canada, New Day Films, PBS, Psychotheraphy.net, the DEFA Film Library’s (East) German Film Collection, and many more. Kanopy launches over 300 new releases per month. Films range from documentaries, independent and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. With regard to topic coverage, humanities and the arts represent the largest category, followed by education and media/communication. Other strong categories are the sciences, social sciences, and history. Search for films by title, subject, keywords, or browse by subject. Register with Kanopy to utilize features such as playlists, clips, sharing, embedding, and creating a watch list for future viewing. Can’t find what you are looking for? Contact Kanopy and they will try to obtain the film for the database within several weeks.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.