- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Business
- Industry Research - Business
- Library Databases and Internet Resources
Industry Research - Business : Library Databases and Internet Resources
Additional Business Research Guides
Industry Codes
Industry codes are used to identify and define individual industries. Many of our library databases allow you to search by NAICS or SIC codes as a keyword, and many government resources are organized by NAICS code. To find the appropriate industry code, please use the NAICS and SIC sources below.
- NAICS: North American Industry Classification System (U.S. Census Bureau)NAICS (pronounced "nakes") is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS replaced the SIC system in 1997. Use the NAICS Search to find the 2-6 digit code for your industry.
Access: Available to everyone. - SIC: Standard Industrial Classification (U.S. Department of Labor)Last updated in 1987 and replaced by NAICS in 1997, SIC codes are 2-4 digit codes that define specific industries in North America.
Access: Available to everyone.
Best Bets
UW-Madison has several excellent databases for comprehensive industry and market research reports. These reports typically include market size, market share, trends, growth of the industry, forecasts and leading companies.
Tips for OneSource Global Business Browser: Use the Industries seach box to search for an industry by keyword, industry activity, or industry code. Then select the closest-matching OneSource industry from the list to view industry profiles, market research, and more for various countries.
- IBISWorld: Industry ReportsMarket research reports on over 700 different industries in the United States, organized by NAICS code. The reports include key statistics, market segmentation, life cycle, regulation, market share, industry outlook, and more.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. - IBISWorld: Procurement ReportsIncludes over 900 reports on indirect purchasing lines and products. These reports show information on pricing environments, including key trends and forecasts, product characteristics, market share, supply chain vendors, and purchasing processes. In addition, the reports cover many different markets ranging from “fire doors” and “data mining services” to “explosives” and “language schooling.”
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.
Also Helpful
Tips for ABI/INFORM: In the Search Options section, limit the Source Type to Reports and limit the Document Type to Report, Industry Report, Market Research, and Statistics/Data Report.
Tips for Business Source Complete: In the Search Options section, limit the Publication type to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report to find reports on specific industries such as Food & Drink, Confectionery, and Menswear.
Trade Associations: Trade association web sites can be another excellent source of information on industry trends, marketing strategies, and other industry data. Use a search engine such as Google to look for trade associations by keyword (e.g., "beverage trade association").
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform)Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, country profiles, industry reports from Business Monitor International and First Research (under the Browse tab), and key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and The Economist. Covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate. (Updated daily)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. - ProQuest One BusinessThe most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from: ABI/INFORM Collection; Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection; Asian and European Business Collection; Business Market Research Collection; and Entrepreneurship Database. With global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. - Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Scholarly, trade, and popular business publications covering all business disciplines. Includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. (Updated daily)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. This resource is also available for use by all Wisconsin residents through BadgerLink. - Data-Planet Statistical Datasets (Conquest Systems, Inc.)Provides simple and refined searching of the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Subjects include Banking, Finance and Insurance including Flow of Funds (Z.1); Energy Resources and Demand; Industry and Commerce; International; Population and Income; Prices and Cost of Living; Stocks and Commodities; and more. Users can search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels. (Dates vary)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. - Factiva (Dow Jones)Newspapers, trade and scholarly journals, TV and radio transcripts, and news wires from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Information on publicly traded companies, industry ratios, trade associations, and relevant news articles is under the Companies/Markets tab. (Updated daily, dates vary by title)
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. Licensed for 3 simultaneous users. - J.P. Morgan Research (now part of ProQuest One Business)The database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Derived from Morgan Markets – which is J.P. Morgan’s exclusive information for key clients and investors – these reports are made available to academic users for education and research purposes. Coverage is 2011 to current with a one week embargo. Lengthy reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. - MarketLineProvides company profiles, industry reports, financial deal reports and,country reports. Also contains case studies. Industry profiles include Porter’s Five Forces.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. - ThomasNet (Thomas Publishing)Product information for about 157,000 North American manufacturing companies. Includes 135,000 trade names organized into 50,000 product classes. (Updated quarterly)
Access: Available to everyone. - Top Markets Series on Export.gov (International Trade Administration)Economists and trade experts analyze and rank industry opportunities in key overseas markets. The reports provide a detailed assessment of the competitiveness landscape within a sector.
Access: Available to everyone.
Business Reference Group
Business Reference Group
Contact:
Subjects: