- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Social Work
- Welcome / Core Resources
Social Work : Welcome / Core Resources
This guide presents resources useful for students in social work classes.
Ask Me a Question!
Thomas Durkin
Contact:
Social Work Library
Room 236
School of Social Work Building
1350 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Room 236
School of Social Work Building
1350 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-3283
Website
Acknowledgements
A special acknowledgement to Zachary Cervenka, a former employee of the Social Work Library and graduated student in the iSchool, for their exceptional dedication and work on the Social Work LibGuide.
Welcome/About the Social Work Guide
Welcome to the Social Work LibGuide.
Please note that most of the resources listed here are also available from the Main Libraries Web Site.
If you have any questions, please contact Tom Durkin. (Additional contact information at left)
Core Social Work Research Tools
All of these databases can be found in the Database Library. If you are trying to find the e-journal for a specific journal title, please try Citation Search.
- APA PsycInfoLarge database covering the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health, including the psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, education, physiology, business, law, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Social WorkOnline encyclopedia covering all facets of social work policy and practice from the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP).
- Oxford Bibliographies. PsychologyFrequently updated, authoritative research guides on topics in psychology, combining aspects of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Includes expert commentary.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Social WorkReference tool of authoritative research guides designed to support the study of social work, combining aspects of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Social Services AbstractsIndex to articles, dissertations and book reviews of research on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
- Social Work AbstractsFocused on areas of the social work profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.
- Social Work OnlineMultimedia resource, including documentaries and client demonstrations, to support social work students with concepts and realities they will employ as practitioners.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)Covers all aspects of sociology, including abortion, criminal justice, ethnicity and race, gender studies, politics, religion, social work, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Additional Research Databases and E-Journals
- Academic SearchLarge, multidisciplinary EBSCO database encompassing most topics.
- Google ScholarScholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources.
- JSTORArchive of scholarly journals and ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and mathematics. Journal coverage is volume 1 of each title until 3-5 years ago (embargo period varies by title).
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
- Web of ScienceCollection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
Significant Books
Social work speaks : National Association of Social Workers policy statements, 2021-2023 by Publication Date: 2021The 12th edition of Social Work Speaks contains the unabridged policies adopted and revised by the National Association of Social Workers , a key policy-making body, in 2020 and represents the collective thinking of thousands of experienced social work practitioners. Broken into 62 topic areas, this text contains both revised policies approved by the 2020 Delegate Assembly and those approved by previous assemblies.
