Social Work : Data/Statistics

A large collection of statistics about Canada and its people.

This source includes in-depth analyses of countries prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program.

DANS's activities are centred around 3 core services: data archiving, data reusing and training & consultancy. Sharing and reusing research data promotes science. Datasets collected for a certain research purpose can also contain answers to research questions from very different research in the same or in another research discipline.

"Provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output, to maximize research efforts and accurately assess importance. "

"A collection of online databases containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international agricultural statistics for 210 countries."

Getfacts is a tool for exploring and downloading Wisconsin demographic data and shapefiles at a range of geographic scales. Formerly known as WisStat.

Formerly WHOSIS (World Health Organization Statistical Information System) "The GHO is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information."

"The Millennial Edition is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present."

International labor statistics from the International Labor Organization.

"ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."

A collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania.

"The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more."

"The iPOLL Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is a full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935."

Prepared by the Wisconsin Taxpayers Alliance
Ref HJ7651 A35 (Law Library Reference)

"The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment."

"A compilation of questions and responses from more than 14,000 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and more than 80 other countries."

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. It creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place. Included are over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data.

"Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."

more...

"The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official national statistics on births, deaths and life expectancy through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system."

The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

A database available from the US Census Bureau.

"The Wisconsin Longitudinal Study (WLS) is a long-term study of a random sample of 10,317 men and women who graduated from Wisconsin high schools in 1957. The WLS provides an opportunity to study the life course, intergenerational transfers and relationships, family functioning, physical and mental health and well-being, and morbidity and mortality from late adolescence through 2008. WLS data also cover social background, youthful aspirations, schooling, military service, labor market experiences, family characteristics and events, social participation, psychological characteristics, and retirement."

"The World Bank Group provides free online access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years."

"Contains overviews of each country in the world, including brief data on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications, and defense forces. Maps and flags may be viewed in various formats."