Funding for Academics and Researchers : Tracking grants
The following resources provide information for those working in higher education who are looking for funding to support their research and other academic-related projects.
Navigation
- GIC HomeGrants Information Collection Web site Home Page
- About the GICMission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection
- Foundation CenterNation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving.
- Candid Funding Information Network locationsSearch for other network partners located in all 50 states, as well as several countries.
Ask a Librarian
Research and Sponsored Programs - University of Wisconsin
- Research and Sponsored ProgramsRSP promotes and facilitates the research, education, and outreach missions of the University of Wisconsin-Madison by supporting and administering extramurally sponsored programs.
Grant trackers
Use these tools to track current and past funding strains.
- The Chronicle of Philanthropy Guide to GrantsThe Chronicle of Philanthropy Guide to Grants is useful for looking into past grants from funders. This only includes foundation grants for $20,000 or more.
- Foundation Directory Online - FreeThe free edition of the Foundation Directory Online is good for finding tax returns of known foundation. You cannot effectively search for foundations, other than by geography. However, you can get the last three years of tax returns. You may need to provide your email address to access.
- FundRefFundRef, the funder identification service from CrossRef, is now available for publishers to contribute funding data and for retrieval of that information. FundRef data includes the name of the funder and a grant or award number.
- GuidestarContains descriptions of and financial data on over 860,000 nonprofit organization. Information is compiled from tax returns filed with the Internal Revenue Service, and includes each charity's assets, liabilities, revenue, and expenditures. Provides access to 990-PF tax returns, which itemize grants given by private foundations. Maintained by Philanthropic Research, a nonprofit group in Williamsburg, Virginia.
Subject Guide
Stay Current
Keep up to date with the world of philanthropy.
- Chronicle of PhilanthropySearch news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.
Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view. - Non-Profit TimesLearn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.
- Philanthropy News DigestBrowse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.