- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Funding for Academics and Researchers
- Subscription Databases/Search Engines
Funding for Academics and Researchers : Subscription Databases/Search Engines
The following resources provide information for those working in higher education who are looking for funding to support their research and other academic-related projects.
Navigation
- GIC HomeGrants Information Collection Web site Home Page
- About the GICMission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection
- Foundation CenterNation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving.
- Candid Funding Information Network locationsSearch for other network partners located in all 50 states, as well as several countries.
Ask a Librarian
Research and Sponsored Programs - University of Wisconsin
- Research and Sponsored ProgramsRSP promotes and facilitates the research, education, and outreach missions of the University of Wisconsin-Madison by supporting and administering extramurally sponsored programs.
Recommended Funding Databases for Academics and Researchers
These resources are helpful to finding research and project funding. UW-Madison students, faculty, staff may access these databases on- or off-site using a UW-Madison NetID unless otherwise noted. Anyone may use these databases in the Grants Information Collection at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Memorial Library. Handouts on how to use COS Pivot, Foundation Directory Online, Foundation Grants to Individuals, Grant Forward, and SPIN are located under the Workshop Materials tab.
If you are a UW-Madison student, start with RSP Funding for Graduate Students. You will need to create an account with RSP using your UW email address to use the database.
- PivotSearch over 28,000 active funding opportunities and over 3 billion past awarded grants from
private and federal funding sources. Covers a wide array of subjects and disciplines. (Note: You must set up a personal login account using your wisc.edu email - free to UW-Madison affiliates - to save searches and track opportunities. However, a login is not necessary to use the database.)
Need help?
- Foundation Directory Online, Professional EditionA web-based database from the Foundation Center, a foundation-supported clearinghouse of information on private funding sources. Provides information on over 140,000 independent and company-sponsored foundations, corporate givers, and grantmaking public charities. Foreign foundations and nonprofit organizations other than foundations are excluded. For use in Memorial Library only.
Need help? - Grants and Awards Available to American WritersIncludes, more than 1,000 listings of domestic and foreign grants, literary awards, fellowships, and residencies available to American writers. Searchable by keyword, genre, organization, or deadline.
- Foundation Grants to IndividualsFunding includes educational support, general welfare, arts and cultural support, awards, prizes, and grants by nomination. For use in Memorial Library only.
- RSP Funding for Graduate StudentsRSP (Reference Service Press) Funding for Graduate Students contains up-to-date information on thousands of financial aid programs open to graduate students. The database describes various program types, including fellowships, loans, grants, dissertation/thesis support, internships, and awards.
Subject Guide
Stay Current
Keep up to date with the world of philanthropy.
- Chronicle of PhilanthropySearch news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.
Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view. - Non-Profit TimesLearn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.
- Philanthropy News DigestBrowse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.