Funding for Academics and Researchers : Workshop Materials
The following resources provide information for those working in higher education who are looking for funding to support their research and other academic-related projects.
Navigation
- GIC HomeGrants Information Collection Web site Home Page
- About the GICMission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection
- Foundation CenterNation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving.
- Candid Funding Information Network locationsSearch for other network partners located in all 50 states, as well as several countries.
Ask a Librarian
Workshop Materials for Research and Project Funding
- HandoutWorkshop handout with the key takeaways.
- Workshop SlidesPresentation slides of Identifying Grants for Research and Project Funding
Below are the materials for the grants workshop called Identifying Grants for Research and Project Funding. These materials contain PDFs of the slides and any handouts mention within the slides. The final four items, not listed in the slides, are instruction sheets and supplementary handout on how to use three of our subscription databases.
- Types of Non-Governmental GrantmakersYellow handout that lists and defines the various types of foundations, which are non-governmental grantmakers.
- Worksheet 1bViolet handout on articulating your project and sources of support.
- Recommended Databases for AcademicsGold handout with a list and brief definition of databases useful to finding funders for researchers. Databases are organized by the type of funder.
- Tips for the Application ProcessRed handout with a variety to tips on how to ace the application process, including how to effectively use pre-proposal contact.
- COS pivotGold or cream handout the describes how to effectively search COS Pivot.
- Foundation Directory OnlineGrey handout (not in slides) on how to effectively use the Foundation Directory Online. Use with the FDO Fields of Interest lists.
Subject Guide
Stay Current
Keep up to date with the world of philanthropy.
- Chronicle of PhilanthropySearch news, article, blogs, and more related to philanthropy.
Patrons must inside a UW-Madison library or affiliated with UW-Madison to view. - Non-Profit TimesLearn more an non-profit management by reading the Non-Profit Times.
- Philanthropy News DigestBrowse and search for news items, jobs, RFPs, and more from this free service from the Foundation Center.