Community Gardening and Urban Agriculture : Books & Digital Collections

Digitized collection of historic texts.

Digital collection from Mann Library, Cornell University.

Smithsonian Libraries and Smithsonian Gardens have partnered to provide a snapshot of the history and culture of the American Garden from the colonial era to the present day.

Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Biorgraphical information and access to Tuskegee Institute Experiment Station Bulletins written by Carver during his tenure as Director.

Exhibit curated by Joe Cialdella, garden scholar and former Smithsonian Enid A. Haupt Fellow. Community of Gardens, Smithsonian Gardens.

The "Language of Flowers" genre is at the intersection of botany, horticulture, natural history, art, poetry, and women’s studies. This popular literary trend in the 19th century presented the world of botany through dictionaries of flowers and associated meanings, floral poetry, and prose, offering a sentimental view of natural history.

12 volume monographic series prepared from Burbank's original field notes and covering more than 100,000 experiments made during forty years devoted to plant improvement.

Collection of books and government publications documenting the national effort to promote and implement a plan to make food the key to winning World War I.

Gardening as part of the school curriculum began in the United States in the early 1900s and is still thriving today. Magazine articles, education and extension bulletins were written to support the growing of food and the responsibility of gardening for children.

Informative and interactive learning site from the Exploratorium, San Francisco

School Gardens; Subsistence Homesteads; Victory Gardens and Farms

Online collection features selected catalogs from American nurseries, seed companies. National Agricultural Library.

Historical collection of trade catalogs (1881-1922); Iowa State University, University Library Digital Collections.

Digitized seed and nursery catalogs from the significant collections of BHL participating institutions, namely from the New York Botanical Garden (NYBG), Cornell University, the Missouri Botanical Garden (MBG) and the National Agriculture Library (NAL).

Trade catalog collection (seed and nursery), 1830-present.

Compiled by staff with the Cooperative Children's Book Center.

Bookstore (new & used) in Portland, OR. Browse titles; view detailed pages for synopses and reviews.