Law Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
Search for Form Books
Books containing legal forms can be found in the UW Madison Library Catalog.
Try these subject search shortcuts
General Forms
- American jurisprudence legal formsCall Number: Law Library Reference KF170 A542This sixty volume set includes information on legal and business transactional forms. They are exhaustively annotated, key noted to substantive law, integrated into legal and form-drafting principles with statutes, tax notes, tables and checklists.
- American jurisprudence pleading and practice forms annotatedCall Number: Law Library Reference KF8836 A45This collection includes both state and federal pleading and practice forms. Access is provided through alphabetic listings by titles. The set includes the governing principle behind the law at the beginning of each topic, checklists of allegations reminding users what actions are permissible or required, a procedural timetable that lists principal procedural steps, statutory references, procedural rules references, trial aids which refers to American Jurisprudence of Fact, and the case notes.
- Cyclopedia of legal forms byCall Number: Law Library Reference KF170 N5Over 230 topics of law are covered by this multi-volume set. These topics include: articles of incorporation, contracts, deeds, merger agreements, trusts, and wills. The resource also includes checklists, forms, tax information, and questionnaires to facilitate transactions between parties. Each area is arranged alphabetically within the subjects.
- West’s Federal formsCall Number: Law Library Reference KF170 W4This is the companion set to Federal Practice and Procedure. The set provides federal procedural forms that are arranged by the type of proceeding and the particular court to which they pertain. They are for use in handling civil and criminal cases and cover the U.S. Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Civil and Criminal District Courts. Included is an index, table of statutes and court rules.
- West’s legal formsCall Number: Law Library Reference KF170 W47This 39 volume set is arranged by subject areas. The areas covered include: business organizations, commercial transactions, copyrights and trademarks, debtor-creditor relations, domestic relations, elder law, employment agency and service agreements, employee benefit plans, estate planning, general forms, patents, real estate transactions, and retirement plans. Pocket parts and revisions keep these volumes up to date.
There are also a number of general legal form books available at the Law Library. These sets contain suggested language for legal forms in a wide range of practice areas. They may be found in the Law Library Reference Collection.
Treatises and Practitioner's Guides
- Corbin on contracts byCall Number: Law Library & Law Library Reserve KF801 C652This fifteen volume set is one of the most heavily cited and influential treatises in print. The book has been cited in the opinions of state and federal courts thousands of times. Since its publication, the book has provided lawyers the ability to understand the rules and the meaning of contracts and how they can be used in their daily practice.
- Farnsworth on contracts byCall Number: Law Library Reserve KF801 F375 2004Practitioners have counted on this resource to provide the essential information on contracts. The authors have included relevant contract law questions and answers and arranged them topically. The book employs access to specifics, drafting tips, references and cross-referenced cases.
- A treatise on the law of contracts byCall Number: Law Library Reference & Law Library Reserve KF801 W5 1990This resource provides coverage and analysis on different aspects of contract law. The text includes historic underpinnings, majority and minority views and emerging trends. Contract laws are traced from their common-law roots in English cases and then show how these have evolved to meet current concerns. It also covers agreements, conditions, contract formation, excuses for non-performance, illegal agreements, interpretations and statute of frauds.
Language for legal forms and contracts can also be found in practice area specific treatises, practitioner's guides, and other texts. Although the works are not exclusively dedicated to forms, many do contain sample language within the body of the text or in special forms sections.
The following is a selection of some of the Law Library's treatises on the topic of contracts.
