FOOD SCIENCE 602|603, Senior Project; Capstone (Fall 2025; Spring 2026) : Find Research Articles
Searching Tips for Online Databases
- Use AND to combine search terms; retrieve records with those terms, in any order: friends AND communication
- Use OR to combine similar search terms or synonyms: friends OR peers
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search a required phrase: "interpersonal communication"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to retrieve singular and plural forms or suffixes for search terms:
friend* = friend, friends, friendly or friendship - Review "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms.
- Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, publication type, or other).
Select and Search Databases by Subject or Type
Select databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use dropdown menu from Catalog button to go to Databases. OR, select the database link from the Find page.
There are several ways to browse and to select databases:
1) Search by name of the database (for example, "FSTA").
2) Use Browse by Subject/Type to choose databases that find articles (and more) in a subject area.
3) Visit Top 10 Databases to choose from a selection of popular databases.
An "Articles Search" can be run from the library home page. The "Articles Search" runs its search within several databases simultaneously. Apply filters by date, source, and more. This search is also useful to quickly determine whether a known article is available in full text.
-
FSTA: Food Science & Technology AbstractsLarge database covering pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition from journals, books, proceedings, reports, theses, patents, standards, and legislation.
-
Google ScholarMulti-disciplinary Web search engine to scholarly articles.
Note: Choosing Google Scholar from the library database menu will help you to retrieve more full article content through our subscriptions. -
Industrial and Applied Microbiology AbstractsArticle database covering practical microbiological applications in the field of agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.
-
Proquest One BusinessOnline business database to millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. The database includes company, industry and country reports; in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; and scholarly journal and e-book coverage.
-
ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
Web of ScienceCollection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
Understand the Peer Review Process
Scholarly articles frequently undergo a peer review process before they are published. This means that experts in the field are invited by the journal editors to review the quality of the article, and to make suggestions for improvements before publication.
This video explains the peer review process:
-
Peer Review in Three MinutesHow do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?Video created by NCSU Libraries.
Retrieve the Full Article
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- get online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article if full text is not available online ("Request a Copy" link)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.
Browse Food Science Journals
BrowZine is available for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff. BrowZine lets you browse, read, save, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.
If browsing from the Web version, select "Biological Sciences" then "Food Science". The "Food Science" menu will have bookshelves for "Food and Nutrition", "Food Chemistry", "Food Microbiology", and more.
Market Research
-
Mintel AcademicIn-depth reports from 2001-present that analyze market size and segmentation, consumer attitudes, and marketing strategies relative to hundreds of consumer products. (New reports issued monthly).
-
Technavio17,000+ marketing research reports for over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies. PDFs of reports must be requested using a “wisc.edu” email address.