Cookbooks, Culinary Arts, Culinary History : Find Articles
Discover campus and community resources for celebrating and examining foodways through cookbooks and other food research and writing.
Suggested Databases for Finding Articles (Library-Licensed)
Note: "Library-Licensed" resources require a visit to a subscribing library in order to use the resource. Off-campus access to UW-Madison library-licensed databases is permitted to registered students, faculty and staff who may log in with their UW-Madison NetID and password.
- America: History and LifeIndexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history.
- Ethnic Diversity SourceSearchable access to resources covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Contains a growing list of full text sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press, from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, multi-ethnic communities.
- Family & Society Studies WorldwideProvides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
- Historical AbstractsIdexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (See America: History and Life for US and Canadian coverage.)
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveFull-text journal database providing access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, economics, folklore, history, literature, sociology, and more.
- Project MuseJournals and e-books in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage in art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
- PsycINFOSupplies citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of other disciplines including medicine, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- SocINDEXDatabase supplies searchable access to sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study, including demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, and more.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)Combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveSearchable access to the complete archives of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Includes: Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Redbook, Seventeen, Woman’s Day.
- Women's Studies InternationalIndexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world, starting in about 1972.
PPC: Petits Propos Culinaires
- PPC (Petits Propos Culinaires)Journal of food studies and food history. Catalog record link to print holdings.
- Table of ContentsVisit publisher's site to browse a Table of Contents to volumes.