Skip to Main Content

Short History of Military Nursing : Resources for Vietnam nursing

Vietnam Nursing Corps Websites

The following articles are from the book, The Dedication of the Vietnam Women's Memorial: A Celebration of Patriotism and Courage, by Diane Carlson Evans, RN, Vietnam, 1968-1969, Army Nurse Corps, 1966-72. 
http://www.vietnamwomensmemorial.org/women.php

Minnesota Public Radio (aired on Nov. 11, 2011) Two Minnesotans are among the 6,000 military nurses who served in the Vietnam War. Their story is told in a new book, "Sisterhood of War: Minnesota Women in Vietnam." Why did they enlist, and what did they experience in Vietnam and at home after the war? 
http://minnesota.publicradio.org/display/web/2011/11/11/midday1/

"American Journal of Nursing Vietnam Nurses Stories"
14 Podcasts from iTunes created by the American Journal of Nursing interviewing nurses about their service in Vietnam.

Wisconsin Historical Society

The Wisconsin Historical Society Archives (located on the 4th floor) provides access to collections of unpublished materials about the history of Wisconsin and a wide array of topics related to North American history. These collections include letters, diaries, organization records, state and local government records, photographs, films, oral histories and many other kinds of unique materials documenting American history.

All unpublished personal or corporate manusctips will be located in the Archives Reading Room.  For more information about visiting the Archives and using the materials, please consult the visition page to learn how to access the collections.  It is important to understand that ArCat and UW's Library Catalog are two separate catalogs. Searching the Library Catalog will not provide information on Archives sources.

Arcat search of "nurs? and military" Run Search

Search under title "Vietnam veterans oral histories, 2001."

Additional link to outside websites

Ebling Library cannot verify the authenticity of these websites.  Users should evaluate each resource.

Military Women in Vietnam
http://www.illyria.com/vnwnurse.html

"Vietnam Nurses" with Dana Delany
http://blogs.anselm.edu/blog/2007/10/01/megcarson/

"LZ Vietnam--Vietnam Nurses"
http://lz-vietnam.weebly.com/vietnam-nurses.html

"Vietnam War Statistics"  General Statistics of military personnel, including women.
http://www.mrfa.org/vnstats.htm

Vietnam Nurses Resources

"Male Army Nurses: The Impact of the Vietnam War on Their Professional and Personal Lives" by Hess, Lucinda Houser.

University of North Texas, 2000. (Available via ProQuest Dissertation and Theses) UW-Madison NetID required.