LSC 360: Life Sciences Communication. Information Radio (Spring 2025) : Finding Articles
Locating and Searching Article Databases
The UW-Madison Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases. Use these tips to help you find more relevant results in a shorter amount of time. Read the linked pages or watch the videos.
- Finding Article DatabasesHow to find library databases by name or by subject/topic.
- Searching DatabasesHow to search for articles within a database.
- Using Articles SearchSearch for a specific article by its title.
Scholarly/Research Article Databases
Multicultural Databases
- Ethnic Diversity SourceCovers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
Limiting Search Results to Magazines or News when Using Academic Search
- Type your keywords into the search boxes and click “Search"
- Limit your search to “Magazines” or “Newspapers” under “Source Types” on the left of the screen
- Click an article title to read the full article, or click the “FINDit” button to find the full text
Multidisciplinary Databases
- PubMedDeveloped by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free access to thousands of scholarly articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, health care systems, and more.
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of ScienceA collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature across the sciences.
Communication Databases
Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters
Follow 
(Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
- request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.