LITTRANS 275: Literature in Translation: The Tales of Hans Christian Andersen (Fall 2023) : Find Articles
Selecting Databases by Subject or Type
Select databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use dropdown menu from Catalog button to go to Databases.
There are several ways to browse and to select databases:
- Search by name of the database (for example, "Academic Search").
- Use Browse by Subject/Type to choose databases that find articles (and more) in a subject area.
- Visit Top 10 Databases or Introductory Databases to choose from a selection of popular databases.
Note: "Articles Search" searches some library databases at once. Apply filters by date, source, document type, (and more).
Multi-Subject Databases
- JSTORJSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in many fields including literature and history. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. Also includes book chapters.
Search tips:
Use Advanced Search.
Search full-text.
Limit to Articles (to omit Reviews) and English (to omit items in other languages).
Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal: History, Folklore, Language & Literature
Subject-Specific Databases
Multi-subject databases are great for getting starting with your research. You may want to go beyond them to search databases that focus on specific subjects. Below are databases focused on literature, folklore, and history, subjects relevant to this course.
Literature
- Literature Resource CenterLiterature Resource Center includes information on a large number of authors and literary works taken from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources. In addition to biographical information, LRC includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections.
Search tips:
To find information about your author and author''s work, use the Person Search option. Enter Andersen, Hans Christian.
To find biographical essays, click Biographies filter in search results.
To find critical essays, click Literature Criticism filter in search results.
To find information about a work, use the Works Search option. You may not find all works.
Search for keywords using Basic or Advanced Search options. - MLA International BibliographyIndexes English language and foreign language periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Reviews of literary and scholarly works are not included. There are few abstracts or summaries.
Search tips:
Search by keywords in Advanced Search.
Look for Subjects (tags that describe sources) and use them to find additional keywords or search terms.
History
- Historical AbstractsIndexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to full-text articles are included when available. It lists articles covering the years 1450 to the present, including approximately 1700 periodicals published in 90 countries in 40 languages. Collections of essays, conference papers, dissertations, and books are also included.
Search tips:
Limit by Historical Time Period.
Limit by English as Language.
Search by country (e.g., Denmark) and/or theme (e.g., women or gender).
Database Search Tips
- Use AND to combine search terms to find results with both terms: Romanticism AND tales
- Use OR to combine similar search terms or synonyms to find results with either term: religion OR Christianity
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search for terms as a phrase: "folk tales"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to retrieve singular and plural forms or varied endings of search terms:
Romantic* = Romantic, Romantics, Romanticism - Review "subjects" or "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms.
- Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, language, etc.).
Getting to Full Text
Follow 
(Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- get online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article if full text is not available online ("Request a Copy" link)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.