LITTRANS 275: Literature in Translation: The Tales of Hans Christian Andersen (Fall 2023) : Find Background Information
Reference Sources
Reference sources are useful for background information such as biographies of authors and overviews of literary works.
The sources listed below are online or available in Memorial Library. Some are in Reference (Room 262 and 2 South Stacks), and others are in Regular Size Shelving.
Web Site
- H.C. Andersen CentreH.C. Andersen Centre is a Web site of the Hans Christian Andersen Centre of the University of Southern Denmark with information about the life and works of Hans Christian Andersen.
Reference Databases
- Literature Resource CenterLiterature Resource Center includes information on a large number of authors and literary works taken from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources. In addition to biographical information, LRC includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals and a dictionary of literary terms.
- To find information about your author and author''s work, use the Person Search option. Enter Andersen, Hans Christian.
- To find biographical essays, click Biographies filter in search results.
- To find critical essays, click Literature Criticism filter in search results.
- To find information about a work, use the Works Search option. You may not find all works.
- Search for keywords using Basic or Advanced Search options.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOxford Reference Online is a database for reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. You can search Oxford Reference Online for background on a literary movement such as Romanticism.
Biography
- Dictionary of Literary Biography, Volume 300: Danish Writers from the Reformation to Decadence, 1550-1900.A Bruccoli Clark Layman Book. Edited by Marianne Stecher-Hansen. The Gale Group, 2004.
Also in Literature Resource Center above. - European Writers.William T.H. Jackson, editor, George Stade, editor in chief. New York : Scribner, [1983-. Also in Literature Resource Center above.
Scandinavian Literature
- Danish Literature in English Translation. With a special Hans Christian Andersen suppl.; a bibliography.Edited by Elias Bredsdorff. Copenhagen, Munksgaard, 1950.
- Dictionary of Scandinavian Literature.Virpi Zuck, editor-in- chief ; Niels Ingwersen and Harald S. Naess, advisory editors. New York: Greenwood Press, c1990.
- Historical Dictionary of Scandinavian Literature and Theater.Jan Sjavik. Publisher: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2006.
- History of Danish Literature.By P. M. Mitchell. New York : American-Scandinavian Foundation, 1958, c1957.
- History of Danish Literature.Edited by Sven H. Rossel. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press ; New York : In cooperation with the American-Scandinavian Foundation, c1992.
- History of the Scandinavian Literatures. A Survey of the Literatures of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and Finland, from their Origins to the to the Present day, including Scandinavian-American Authors, and Selected Bibliographies.Edited by Frederika Blankner. New York, Dial press inc., 1938.