Mass Media: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Media Bias
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Center for Media and Democracy's PR WatchMadison, WI-based nonprofit organization that focuses on "investigating and exposing the undue influence of corporations and front groups on public policy, including PR campaigns, lobbying, and electioneering"
- CAMERAThe Committee for Accuracy in Middle East Reporting in America describes itself as "a media-monitoring, research and membership organization devoted to promoting accurate and balanced coverage of Israel and the Middle East"
- Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)"FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986"
- Media Research CenterConservative watch group with a "commitment to neutralizing left-wing bias in the news media and popular culture"
About Media Bias
This guide focuses on bias in mass media coverage of news and current events. It includes concerns of sensationalism, allegations of media bias, and criticism of media's increasingly profit-motivated ethics. It also includes examples of various types of sources coming from particular partisan viewpoints.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: media bias, sensational* AND (news or media), bias AND media coverage, (liberal or conservative) AND bias, [insert topic] AND media bias, media manipulation, misrepresent* AND media
Overview Resources - Background Information
- International Encyclopedia of Media StudiesThis encyclopedia covers the broad field of "media studies” which includes encompassing print journalism, radio, film, TV, photography, computing, mobile phones, and digital media.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- FactCheck.orgA nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics by monitoring the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
Books
The Harms of Crime Media: Essays on the Perpetuation of Racism, Sexism, and Class Stereotypes by ISBN: 9780786463800Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Women for President: Media Bias in Eight Campaigns by ISBN: 9780252033117Publication Date: 2007-12-18
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIncludes articles on communication and media topics.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform)covers a wide range of business topics including accounting, finance, management, marketing and real estate.
- Project MuseDisciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.
- JSTOR: The Scolarly Journal Archivefull-text journal database which provides access to articles on many different topics.
Statistics and Data
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.