Mass Media: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Advertising
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- American Advertising Federation - Madison"AAF Madison is committed to the development of the advertising, marketing and communications community in the greater Madison area. Our members represent a wide range of responsibilities within agencies, suppliers, corporations and other interested organizations. To fulfill our mission we offer a wide range of educational, networking and social opportunities for our members and guests."
- AdCouncilA nonprofit group conducting ad campaigns for the public good. "Our mission is to identify a select number of significant public issues and stimulate action on those issues through communications programs that make a measurable difference in our society."
- The Advertising Research Foundation"The principal mission of The ARF is to improve the practice of advertising, marketing and media research in pursuit of more effective marketing and advertising communications."
- American Advertising Federation (AAF)"The American Advertising Federation protects and promotes the well-being of advertising. We accomplish this through a unique, nationally coordinated grassroots network of advertisers, agencies, media companies, local advertising clubs and college chapters."
About Advertising
This guide provides resources dealing with the social and economic aspects of consumer advertising, advertising media, research in advertising and regulation of advertising.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: (advertising or marketing) and tobacco, advertising and television and women, advertising and television and children, advertising and racism, advertising and sexism, advertising and magazine*, advertising and research, advertising and teen*, advertising and cigarette*, advertising expenditure*, internet advertising effect*, advertising laws and regulation, pop-up ads and internet, wireless advertising, advertising and media, advertising and ethics, and advertising and politic*.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Books
Buying Reality Political Ads, Money, and Local Television News by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0823288978Publication Date: 2020
Gender, Culture, and Consumer Behavior by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781848729469Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Ad Critique: How to Deconstruct Ads in Order to Build Better Advertising by Call Number: HF5813 U6 S43 2012ISBN: 9781412980531Publication Date: 2011-12-14
Soap, Sex, and Cigarettes: A Cultural History of American Advertising by ISBN: 9781133311133Publication Date: 2011-07-19
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIncludes articles on communication and media topics.
Statistics and Data
- Advertising Age Data CenterStatistics from the Ad Age Data Center compiled by the Ad Age Research Center.
- Nielsen NetRatings"Nielsen Online, a service of The Nielsen Company, delivers comprehensive, independent measurement and analysis of online audiences, advertising, video, consumer-generated media, word of mouth, commerce and consumer behavior."
- Nielsen"AC Nielsen Retail Measurement Services capture point-of-sale and causal information from all retail channels, highlighting incremental changes in market dynamics."
Images
Free, copyright-friendly image collections on the Web.
- University of Wisconsin Digital CollectionsFind images in the UW-Madison's Digital Collections Center and other digital image collections at UW-Madison.
- Creative CommonsCreative Commons images are free of traditional copyright restrictions.
Videos
- Consuming Kids: The Commercialization of Childhood (2008)This DVD throws desperately needed light on the practices of a relentless multi-billion dollar marketing machine that now sells kids and their parents everything from junk food and violent video games to bogus educational products and the family car.
- Killing us softly 4 : advertising’s image of womenIn this new, highly anticipated update of her pioneering Killing Us Softly series, the first in more than a decade, Jean Kilbourne takes a fresh look at how advertising traffics in distorted and destructive ideals of femininity. The film marshals a range of new print and television advertisements to lay bare a stunning pattern of damaging gender stereotypes -- images and messages that too often reinforce unrealistic, and unhealthy, perceptions of beauty, perfection, and sexuality.
- Understanding BrandsEvery day we are exposed to about 3,000 advertisements - that’s 84,000 advertisements a month on over a 2 million different products each and every year. In this hectic market we often put our faith, and our money, in something more than a single product - we put it in a brand. In this engaging Australian-made, curriculum fit program we look at what a brand is, the power of branding, what makes up a brand, the evolution of brands, and influences on brands.