Gender and Sexual Identity: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Feminism
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Gender Identity/Expression
- Hate Crimes
- LGBQ Topics
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- LexisNexisAcademicContains mostly full text of legal, news, reference, and business sources. Includes U.S. and international newspapers, trade journals, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, newsletters, wire services, company and industry analyst reports, polls, biographical tools, almanacs, and broadcast transcripts. LexisNexis Academic updates daily.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- Badgers Empowering WomenThis organization promotes gender equality in all areas, including physical, mental, economic, and social well-being of women. The organization strives to provide a positive environment to enable women to support each other in breaking limitations, regarding gender equality.
- Campus Women's Center (CWC)Founded in 1983, this organization focuses on confronting the different oppression that those who identify as women face. CWC is concentrated on dismantling ideologies that perpetuate discrimination, including sexism.
- Gender and Women's Studies ClubPromote equality for all genders, races, classes, and sexual orientation. This organization focuses on taking action and bringing awareness to different aspects of women’s studies.
- National Organization of Women (NOW)NOW is an organization that was founded in 1966. This organization is focused on multi-issues and multi-strategies for approaching women’s rights.
- Wisconsin Women's NetworkThis organization strives to promote the advancement of Wisconsin females through: communication, education, advocacy, and connections.
This guide provides an introduction to resources, including databases and books, pertaining to feminism. Feminism is advocating for women’s rights with the belief that both sexes are equal. It includes a variety of ideologies and social and political movements, all of which share the goal to explain and achieve women’s rights: politically, economically, personally, and socially.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page:
Feminism, Feminist Theory, Feminism AND Women’s Rights, Feminism AND Feminist Theory, Feminism AND Social Movement, Feminism AND Society, Feminism AND History, Feminism AND Culture, Feminism AND United States*, Feminism AND Sexism, Feminism AND Multiculturalism, Feminism AND Media, Feminism AND Politics, Feminism AND Education, Feminism AND Criticism, Feminism AND Western Culture
*You can search for "feminism" in other geographical locations, such as China or Japan or Australia etc.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- This Will Be My Undoing: Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America by Morgan JerkinsISBN: 9780062666154Publication Date: 2018-01-30
- Feminist Theory Reader: Local and Global Perspectives by Carole R. McCann (Editor); Seung-Kyung Kim (Editor)ISBN: 9781138930209Publication Date: 2016-08-04
- Women Politicking Politely: Advancing Feminism in the 1960s and 70s by Kimberly Wilmot VossISBN: 9781498522298Publication Date: 2017-04-05
- And the Spirit Moved Them: The Lost Radical History of America's First Feminists by Helen LaKelly Hunt; Cornel West (Foreword by)ISBN: 9781558614291Publication Date: 2017-05-16
- Divided We Stand: The Battle Over Women's Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics by Marjorie J. SpruillISBN: 9781632863140Publication Date: 2017-02-28
- Why I Am Not a Feminist: A Feminist Manifesto by Jessa CrispinISBN: 9781612196015Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierA multidisciplinary database which has articles from full text journals and peer-reviewed titles; publications are from 1984 to the present.
- GenderWatchFocuses on gender, women, and LGBT issues. Contains full-text articles from magazines, journals, newsletters, and publications. Material is from 1970 to present and is updated quarterly.
- SocINDEX with Full TextContains full text for sociology journals, books, and conference paper. Also contains all sub-disciplines of sociology, including gender studies. Material is from 1895 to the present.
- Women's Studies InternationalIndexes women’s: studies, issues, and gender focused books, chapters, articles, reports, and dissertations. Material is from throughout the world and contains information from 1972 to the present.
Statistitcs and Data
- American Fact FinderU.S. Census Bureau's data retrieval system.
- Gender Equality Data and StatisticsIncludes data from a multitude of sources and is searchable by country or region.
- Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR)IWPR assess the status of females and publishes reports, including: race, earnings, gender wage ratio, women’s poverty etc.
- Women Stats ProjectContains qualitative and quantitative data on a variety of indicators of women's status in 174 countries.
- Women WatchUnited Nations compiled news and events on gender equality.