Gender and Sexual Identity: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Transgender Athletes
News
- Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research Guide
This guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association's transgender participation policy
- Wisconsin Athletics' transgender inclusion policy
- Transgender Law Center: an organization promoting legal services for transgender people in the United States
- Alliance Defending Freedom: a conservative Christian legal advocacy group that opposes LGBTQ rights, including transgender athletes' participation
About Transgender Athletes
This guide provides resources related to transgender people competing on a sports team or in a sports league, particularly transgender girls and women competing in women's sports.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: transgender AND athlete, intersex AND athlet* AND (laws OR rules OR regulations), trans* women AND names of specific sports, trans* children AND school AND sports, (college OR student) AND (athlet* OR sport*), women's sports, women athletes, fairness, biological advantage, sexual dimorphism, testosterone, sex verification
Overview Resources - Background Information
-
HRC.org: Get the Facts about Transgender & Non-Binary Athletes
The Human Rights Campaign provides background about legislation targeting transgender athletes in the United States. -
NCAA Transgender Student-Athlete Participation Policy
As of 2024, the NCAA's official policy allows some transgender student athletes to participate as their gender identity. -
Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by Call Number: GV706.5 .R88 2014ISBN: 9781138695047Publication Date: 2016-05-02
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
-
SPORTDiscus
Full text database covers areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, training, and the psychology, history, and sociology of sport. -
Education Research Complete
Education database (EBSCO) that covers research in the field of education from early childhood through higher education. Covers Journal articles, conference papers, and selected books. -
LGBTQ+ Source
Covers fulltext of current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Queer (LGBTQ) journals, magazines and regional newspapers and a selection of full text ebooks. - GenderWatch
A gender, women, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues database with thousands of English-language full-text articles from over 200 magazines, academic journals, regional publications, and newsletters.