Education: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Evolution/Creationism
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- Institute for Creation Research"The Institute for Creation Research is the premier education and research institution for equipping believers with evidences of the Bible's accuracy and authority."
- National Center for Science Education"The National Center for Science Education (NCSE) is a not-for-profit, membership organization providing information and resources for schools, parents and concerned citizens working to keep evolution in public school science education. We educate the press and public about the scientific, educational, and legal aspects of the creation and evolution controversy, and supply needed information and advice to defend good science education at local, state, and national levels."
About Evolution/Creationism
The continuing ideological struggle between evolutionists and creationists has entered a new phase with the emergence of "intelligent design." Intelligent design (ID) is a concept that states that living organisms must be the product of careful and conscious design that cannot be explained by the random workings of evolution alone. This Research Guide focuses on resources which cover the scientific nature of evolution versus creationism, as well as disputes over teaching intelligent design in public schools and its presentation in textbooks.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: creationism and evolution, intelligent design and (curriculum or textbooks), bible and evolution, scientific creationism, darwin and evolution, evolution and religio*, and evolution and schools.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- AAAS Evolution ResourcesThe American Association for the Advancement of Science Dialogue on Science, Ethics, and Religion encourages the exchange of ideas between scientific and religious communities.
- Intelligent Design?Three proponents of Intelligent Design present their views of design in the natural world. Each view is immediately followed by a response from a proponent of evolution. Includes links to related sites at the end of the report.
- Tennessee vs. John Scopes - The "Monkey Trial" - 1925Site contains biographies of the trial participants, excerpts from the trial transcripts, and H.L. Mencken's reports from the trial.
- The Complete Works of Charles DarwinThe largest collection of writings by and and about Darwin ever published, this site provides access to Darwin's complete publications. It includes publications, manuscripts, and supplementary works.
- Evolution vs. CreationismLinks to various resources such as books, videos, databases and more.
Books
The Genesis Quest: The Geniuses and Eccentrics on a Journey to Uncover the Origin of Life on Earth by ISBN: 9780226715230Publication Date: 2020
Reality Check: How Science Deniers Threaten Our Future by ISBN: 9780253010292Publication Date: 2013-08-01
American Genesis: The Anti-Evolution Controversies from Scopes to Creation Science by ISBN: 9780195183498Publication Date: 2012-03-05
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)Includes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- Biological AbstractsIncludes articles on biology topics.
Statistics and Data
- Data Citation IndexThe Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation.
Videos
- Francisco AyalaFrancisco Ayala, a philosopher and evolutionary biologist, discusses the mutually-beneficial relationship between Darwinism and religious faith.
- Judgment Day: Intelligent Design on Trial"Judgment day: intelligent design on trial" captures the turmoil that tore apart the community of Dover, Pennsylvania, in a landmark battle over the teaching of evolution in public schools. In 2004, the Dover school board ordered science teachers to read a statement to high school biology students about an alternative to Darwin’s theory of evolution called intelligent design--the idea that life is too complex to have evolved naturally and so must have been designed by an intelligent agent.
- Kansas vs DarwinExplores the controversy over the teaching of evolution and intelligent design in Kansas public schools, using footage from the hearings before the Board of Education and interviews with people on both sides of the issue.
- Paradise Lost : The Religious Life of Charles DarwinIn addition to his significant contributions to modern science, Charles Darwin’s theories on religious thought are of interest. This film uses voice-overs from Darwin’s journals and autobiography to document his transition from theism, to deism, to agnosticism.
- Television News ArchiveBrought to you by UW-Madison Libraries, the Television News Archive is a searchable collection of network news television broadcasts from 1968 to the present.