Spanish Linguistics : Texts & Corpora
Ask a Librarian
Tips for Searching
AND, OR, NOT (Keyword Boolean)
- Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search terms
- Use quotation marks to indicate phrases: "Divina Commedia"
- Use opening and closing parentheses to group search terms
- Use ? or * to truncate: donna? or donna* (will find singular and plural forms). Note that the use of truncation symbols vary in each database or catalog.
- There is no need to write with diacritics (accents, tildes, etc.)
Examples:
Celestina AND (tema? OR critica?)
Fernando de Rojas AND “Celestina”
“Teatro” AND "comedia" AND Spain
"social aspects" AND “Spanish literature”
Spanish AND "clitic placement"
Databases
- Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin AmericaFrom the University of Texas at Austin, AILLA is a digital repository of multimedia resources in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. The collection includes recordings with transcriptions and translations in Spanish and English.
- Archivo de Filología Española 1998-2007A selection of historical grammatical treatises that includes, among others, Nebrija's "Gramática de la lengua española" and Villena's "El arte de trovar".
- CORDIAMThis corpus features exclusively Spanish American documents between 1494 and 1905. Search criteria include time period, country, text type, and author information.
- Corpus CHARTAThis corpus contains documents from Europe and the Americas between the twelfth and nineteenth centuries, offering three versions of every text: original, paleographic, and critical.
- Corpus del EspañolCreated by Mark Davies of BYU, this corpus of Spanish contains more than 2 billion words. Useful for an analysis of genre-based or dialectal variation in Spanish.
- Corpus del Español del Siglo XXI (CORPES)Created by the Real Academia Española, this corpus consists of written and oral forms of Spanish from 2001 to 2012. Contains nearly 225 million words. Search criteria include word class, subject, and country. Useful for an analysis of (aspects of) 21st-century Spanish.
- Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA)Created by the Real Academia Española, this corpus consists of written and oral forms of Spanish from 1975 to 2004. Contains over 160 million words. Search criteria include author, work, time period, medium, country, and subject. Useful for an analysis of (aspects of) contemporary Spanish.
- Corpus Diacrónico del Español (CORDE)Created by the Real Academia Española, this corpus consists of written forms of Spanish from its beginnings to 1974. Contains over 250 million words. Search criteria include author, work, time period, medium, country, and subject. Useful for an analysis of (aspects of) Spanish over time.
- Corpus do PortuguêsCreated by Mark Davies of BYU, this corpus of Portuguese contains more than 1 billion words. Useful for an analysis of genre-based or dialectal variation in Portuguese.
- Corpus Oral y Sonoro del Español Rural (COSER)Developed by the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, this corpus contains speech from rural areas in the Iberian Peninsula. Search criteria include gender, province, birth year, speech marker, and subject. Useful for an analysis of dialectal variation in Peninsular Spanish.
- Digital Library of Old Spanish TextsThe Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies presents this online library of early Spanish texts. A full user guide is available on the website.
- Digital ScriptoriumThe Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
- Hispanic Seminary of Medieval StudiesCreated by Profs. Kasten and Nitti of the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the 1970s, this data bank is part of a project to utilize digitized formats of medieval texts to contribute to the compilation of dictionaries. The site is now working to offer their textual archives in an online format while still preserving its original structure. Some available texts are: prose works of Alfonso X, Spanish medical texts, Navarro-Aragonese texts, Spanish legal texts, Spanish biblical texts, Spanish poetic texts, and early Celestina texts.
- PhiloBiblonA free, internet-based bio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance.
- TeXTReDA database that provides access to the Léxico hispanoamericano, Corpus of Hispanic Chivalric Romances, The Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies, the Hispanic Society of America, and Parnaseo.
- World Digital LibraryUNESCO's World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Library Catalog
Libraries Account
Google Books
- Google Books (Advanced)Try Google Books to find books on your topic. Many titles in Google Books include a limited preview of the text that will help you decide whether you want to borrow a copy via the library. Some titles even include the complete text!
WorldCat
- WorldCatWorldCat is a catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives, manuscripts, scores, and computer files owned by more than 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. More than 400 languages are represented.
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the book you are looking for, you can request to have it brought from another library through the Interlibrary Loan service. Click here to access the form.