- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Spanish Linguistics
- M.A. Reading List
Spanish Linguistics : M.A. Reading List
Ask a Librarian
Reading Lists for Graduate Students
This link will take you to the Graduate Documents page, which contains both MA Reading Lists for graduate students of Spanish, prepared and maintained by the Department of Spanish & Portuguese at UW-Madison. Any questions about these lists should be directed to them.
Reference
- Glossary of Linguistic TermsContains short definitions and examples of linguistic terms. Contains more than 900 entries. Available online.
- Gramática descriptiva de la lengua españolaThe authoritative reference text on Spanish syntax and morphology. Detailed descriptions of the structure of the Spanish language incorporate both traditional analyses and modern contributions. Contains extensive bibliography.
- The Handbook of Hispanic LinguisticsContains 40 essays on applied and theoretical research in Spanish linguistics. Essays discuss various aspects of Spanish, such as its origin, evolution, and variation of the language. Other topics addressed are the learning of Spanish as a first language, as a second language, and as a heritage language. Full text available to download as PDF.
- The Handbook of Hispanic SociolinguisticsContains 35 essays on theoretical and descriptive research in Spanish sociolinguistics. Essays discuss contributions of Spanish sociolinguistics to general theory. Other topics addressed are the effects of social factors, language contact, the importance of Spanish in the U.S., and language planning.
- The Handbook of Portuguese LinguisticsContains 32 essays on research in (Brazilian and European) Portuguese linguistics. Chapters focus on phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, linguistic change, language variation and contact, and acquisition.
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsContains thorough explanations of linguistic terms and considerable bibiography. Contains 850 entries. Available online.
- Portal de lingüística hispánicaA resource dedicated to the promotion of the study of Hispanic linguistics. Contains definitions, activities, and bibliography in the following areas: fundamental linguistic concepts, phonetics / phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics / pragmatics, Spanish language history, variation, and acquisition.
- Real Academia Española (RAE)The website of the Real Academia Española provides access to a number of current and historical dictionaries (e.g., Diccionario de la Lengua Española, Diccionario Panhispánico de Dudas, etc.) and also to several large databases (e.g., Corpus Diacrónico del Español, Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual, etc.).
- The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS)The World Atlas of Language Structures is a database of structural (e.g., phonological, morphological, syntactic, lexical) features of languages taken from descriptive sources (e.g., grammatical reference texts).
Library Catalog
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the book you are looking for, you can request to have it brought from another library through the Interlibrary Loan service. Click here to access the form.
Recommend a Purchase
Need a book we do not have at UW-Madison and there is no way of getting it through interlibrary loan? Recommend its acquisition by clicking the link below.