Current Topics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Fast Fashion
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
About Fast Fashion
This guide focuses on fast fashion, or inexpensive clothing that is quickly discarded as it goes out of style.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: fast fashion, slow fashion, fashion industr*, sustainable fashion, clothing, clothing industr*, textile industr*, mass production, sustainability AND fashion, sustainability AND clothing, sustainability AND textile*
Overview Resources
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher provides topic overviews and analysis of the news, social issues, and other current events.
Books
Why We Can't Have Nice Things: Social Media's Influence on Fashion, Ethics, and Property by ISBN: 1478018615Publication Date: 2022
Articles - Scholarly & Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- WGSN: FashionIncludes professional industry forecasting and commentary on fashion design and the issues surrounding it.
- ProQuest One BusinessBusiness-related database of journal articles, newspapers, market research, dissertations, books, videos; Includes content from Business Premium Collection, ABI/INFORM, and J.P. Morgan Research.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science DatabaseFocused research tool for cross-disciplinary agriculture and environmental sciences research.
- SOCIndexCovers all aspects of sociology, including abortion, criminal justice, ethnicity and race, gender studies, politics, religion, social work, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Organizations
- Fashion RevolutionAn organization working to end human and environmental exploitation in the fashion industry through cultural, industry, and policy change.
- Business and Human Rights Resource CenterHuman rights advocacy group, focusing on abuse of workers and building corporate transparency.
- Centre for Sustainable FashionUniversity of the Arts London research center focusing on sustainability, education, and advocacy in the fashion industry.